Title Image

Gallery C

Projekttyp: Museum

 

Standort: Hermosa Beach, CA, USA

 

Zeitraum: 2001

 

Status: Fertiggestellt

 

Fotos: ERHARD

Die Aufgabe dieses Projektes war die Transformation des historischen Bijou Theaters in eine Galerie und gemeinnütziges Museum in Hermosa Beach, Kalifornien. Das Projekt suchte nach neuen Strategien und Szenarios für die Ausstellung und der Lesart von zeitgenössischer Kunst durch die Gegenüberstellung programmatischer Elemente und der Frage nach Ort und Kontext.

 

Die Gegensätzlichkeit von zeitgenössischer Kunst und historischem Gebäude, der „white box“, und den historischen Details, sowie dem Bedürfnis nach Flexibilität und Kompatibilität waren die treibende Kraft des Designs. Wie kann der weiße, unspezifische Hintergrund einer Galerie neben dem historischen, spezifischen Kontext des Theaters existieren?

 

Die gestalterischen Antworten auf diese Fragestellung sind großformatige, bewegbare Elemente, die verschiedene Zonen oder Hintergründe für die Kunst schaffen- große bewegbare Blöcke, die in die Arkaden passen, eine gebogene Wand, die sich um 360 Grad drehen lässt und in der Wand verschwinden kann, 4 Meter hohe Glaswände, die schwenkbar und verschiebbar sind.

Gallery C

Project type: Museum

 

Location: Hermosa Beach, CA, U.S.A.

 

Time: 2001

 

Status: Completed

 

Photos: ERHARD

The project transforms the historic Bijou Theatre in Hermosa Beach into a gallery and non-profit museum. The project aims to find new strategies and scenarios for the display and reading of contemporary art by contrasting programmatic elements and questions of site and context.

 

The tension between the contemporary exhibits and the historic building, between the ‘white box’ and the historic ornamentation, as well as the need for flexibility and compatibility were the primary factors that determined the design. How can the white, deliberately neutral background of a gallery coexist with the historic specificity of the context of the theatre?

 

The project responds to this question through the design of large mobile elements that make it possible to demarcate different zones and backgrounds for art: large moveable blocks that fit into openings in an arcade, a curved wall that can rotate 360° and blend into the wall and 12-foot-high glass walls that can slide along tracks or swivel open and closed.