urban nation museum

Projekttyp: Museum

 

Standort: Berlin

 

Bauherr: Stiftung Berliner Leben

 

Zeitraum: 2016

 

Status: in Bearbeitung

Mit dem URBAN NATION MUSEUM FOR URBAN CONTEMPORARY ART, kurz UN Museum, entsteht das erste deutsche Street Art Museum in Berlin-Schöneberg unter der kuratorischen Leitung von Yasha Young.

 

GRAFT entwickelte das Konzept für den Umbau eines ehemaligen Wohnhauses an der Kreuzung Bülow- und Zietenstraße. Hierbei wird das Haus durch eine modulare Wechselfassade selbst zum Kunstwerk. Sie dient Künstlern aus der ganzen Welt als Leinwand und wird in regelmäßigen Abständen neu gestaltet. Die Fassadenelemente können anschließend als Ausstellungsstück in die Sammlung des Museums aufgenommen werden.

 

Das Museumsinnere offenbart eine radikale und unerwartete Raumwahrnehmung: Enfiladen von Räumen, die sich in ihrer Höhe teilweise über zwei und drei Geschosse entwickeln, erzeugen Weite und Größe. Die anamorphen Techniken der Street Art finden hier Eingang in das architektonische Konzept und ermöglichen so der Kunst weiterhin neue Symbiosen mit der Architektur einzugehen.

 

Die Straße wird in den Innenraum des Museums erweitert. Eine Trasse, wie eine Art High Line, verbindet alle Ausstellungsräume miteinander und ermöglicht die Gleichzeitigkeit des Erlebens der Kunstwerke aus der Ferne und von ganz nah. Das UN Museum wird weiterhin eine Bibliothek, ein Auditorium für Veranstaltungen und zwölf Wohnungen für das Residence Program für die UN Artists enthalten.

 

URBAN NATION ist eine Initiative der Stiftung „Berliner Leben“, die 2013 von der Berliner Wohnungsbaugesellschaft Gewobag gegründet wurde. Durch das Museum entsteht eine Plattform für urbane Kunst von internationaler Strahlkraft. Die Kunstform der Streetart findet somit ein Sprachrohr und wird gleichzeitig für Besucher und Bewohner des Quartiers zugänglich gemacht.

urban nation museum

Project type: Museum

 

Location: Bülowstrasse 7, 10783 Berlin, Germany

 

Client: Berliner Leben Foundation

 

Time: 2016-2017

 

Size: 500 sqm exhibition space

 

Status: Built

 

Photos: Tobias Hein

The Urban Nation Museum for Urban Contemporary Art – or Urban Nation Museum for short – is the first museum of urban art in Germany and occupies a former residential building in the Schöneberg district of Berlin.

 

GRAFT’s concept for the conversion of the building at the crossroads of Bülowstrasse and Zietenstrasse envisaged turning the building itself into a work of art. The façade comprises modular sections that serve as a canvas for artists from all over the world and can be changed periodically. The elements of the building façade are then added to the museum’s collection as works of art.

 

The interior reveals a radical and unexpected space: enfilades of rooms extend in all directions and over two or even three floors, creating a sense of height and depth. The anamorphic techniques of urban art permeate the realm of architecture allowing art to enter into a new symbiosis with architecture.

 

The street extends into the interior of the museum. A walkway – a ‘high line’ of sorts – connects the exhibition spaces and makes it possible to simultaneously experience the works of art from afar and from close up.

 

The Urban Nation Museum also contains a library as well as twelve apartments for Urban Nation Artists taking part in the artist’s residency program.

URBAN NATION is an initiative by the foundation “Berliner Leben” that was founded by the Berlin housing association Gewobag in 2013. Under the direction of Yasha Young, the museum has acquired a reputation platform for urban art attracting artists from around the world. The museum gives the art form of urban art its own platform while making it accessible to visitors from near and far.