VoloPort

Back
GRAFT VoloPort
GRAFT VoloPort
GRAFT VoloPort
MobilityBranding
Project type
Vertiports, infrastructure, mobility architecture
Location
Worldwide
Time
Ongoing
Client
Volocopter GmbH
Status

2021: Commission for VoloPort together with Arup and Bayards Aluminium Constructies

2019: First prototype built in Singapore by GRAFT Brandlab

2018: Competition, 1st prize, together with GRAFT Brandlab and Arup

Renderings
bloomimages Berlin GmbH
Awards

International Design Award IDA 2021: Honorable Mention

The German eVTOL design company Volocopter is a pioneer of Urban Air Mobility and develops fully electric vertical take-off aircraft as a mobility solution for use in urban areas. As a hub for the Volocopter aircraft, the VoloPort vertiport was devised by GRAFT in collaboration with Volocopter, Arup and Bayards Aluminium Constructies.

The VoloPort is part of the Volocopter urban air mobility infrastructure network and acts as a gateway within the public realm. Suited to the constraints of densely populated areas, its compact, modular and expandable design can be employed in a variety of inner-city locations – either on the ground, on the roof of a high-rise building or on a floating, water-based platform.

GRAFT VoloPort

The exterior of the VoloPort features dynamic lines in horizontal, vertical, and diagonal planes. By connecting earth and sky, this gesture inspires passengers to anticipate the experience of flight, while the distinctive lighting concept will make it into an easily recognizable landmark atop of skyscrapers, parking garages and floating platforms. Retaining all key design elements across all configurations and sizes, the fully functional, branded unit incorporates all necessary passenger services and aircraft operations, such as battery swapping and charging, elevating platforms for maintenance, and fire detection and rescue. The VoloPort is tailored to act as a hub for the VoloCity and VoloConnect aircraft, and may also accommodate other aircraft.

The design of the VoloPort allows for different configurations, enabling adaptability to regulatory changes.

GRAFT VoloPort
GRAFT VoloPort

Each unit can be configurated on a single level or on multiple levels. Multiple level units are arranged into three elements that divide different functions: the plinth, the terminal, and the platform. The plinth is of varying heights and is designed to distribute loads according to the specific location, especially when sited on constrained decks or existing constructions. The terminal is connected to the FATO (Final Approach and Take-Off) platform on the upper deck by a perforated material that allows sufficient air flow to prevent turbulence. Both the terminal units and the platform are made from pre-assembled lightweight modules.

While the VoloPort offers an expandable, network-ready vertiport solution for dense urban areas, it can also be employed next to transport terminals in rural locations.

Project partners
Georg Schmidthals, Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit
Design Lead
Marta Piaseczynska
Project Lead
Sebastian Massmann
Project Team
Julia Korpacka, Tatiana Lebedeva

VoloPort

Zurück
GRAFT VoloPort
GRAFT VoloPort
GRAFT VoloPort
MobilityBranding
Projektart
Vertiports, Infrastruktur, Mobilitätsarchitektur
Ort
Weltweit
Zeitraum
Aktuell
Auftraggeber
Status

2021: Beauftragung für VoloPort zusammen mit Arup und Bayards Aluminium Constructies

2019: Erster Prototyp, gebaut in Singapur von GRAFT Brandlab

2018: Wettbewerb, 1. Preis, zusammen mit GRAFT Brandlab und Arup

Renderings
bloomimages Berlin GmbH
Auszeichnungen

International Design Award IDA 2021: Lobende Erwähnung

Das deutsche eVTOL Unternehmen Volocopter ist ein Pionier der Urban Air Mobility und entwickelt vollelektrische Senkrechtstarter als Mobilitätslösung für den Einsatz in städtischen Gebieten. Als Hub für die Volocopter-Fluggeräte wurde der Vertiport „VoloPort“ von GRAFT in Zusammenarbeit mit Volocopter, Arup und Bayards Aluminium Constructies entwickelt.

Der VoloPort ist Teil des Volocopter-Infrastrukturnetzwerks für urbane Luftmobilität und fungiert als Gateway im öffentlichen Raum. Sein kompaktes, modulares und ausbaufähiges Design passt sich den Gegebenheiten in dicht besiedelten Gebieten an und kann an einer Vielzahl von innerstädtischen Standorten eingesetzt werden - entweder am Boden, auf dem Dach eines Hochhauses oder auf einer schwimmenden Plattform auf dem Wasser.

GRAFT VoloPort

Das Äußere des VoloPort zeichnet sich durch dynamische Linien in horizontalen, vertikalen und diagonalen Ebenen aus. Durch die Verbindung von Himmel und Erde weckt diese Geste bei den Passagieren die Vorfreude auf das Erlebnis des Fliegens, während das unverwechselbare Beleuchtungskonzept ihn zu einem leicht erkennbaren Orientierungspunkt auf Wolkenkratzern, Parkhäusern und schwimmenden Plattformen machen wird. Unter Beibehaltung aller wichtigen Designelemente über alle Konfigurationen und Größen hinweg bietet die voll funktionsfähige, gebrandete Einheit alle notwendigen Passagierdienste und Flugzeugoperationen, wie z. B. Batteriewechsel und -aufladung, Hebeplattformen für Wartungsarbeiten sowie Branderkennung und -rettung. Der VoloPort ist so konzipiert, dass er als Drehscheibe für die VoloCity- und VoloConnect-Flugzeuge dient und darüber hinaus auch andere Fluggeräte aufnehmen kann.

Das Design des VoloPort ermöglicht verschiedene Konfigurationen und damit die Anpassung an regulatorische Änderungen.

GRAFT VoloPort
GRAFT VoloPort

Jeder VoloPort kann auf einer einzigen oder mehreren Ebenen konfiguriert werden. Einheiten mit mehreren Ebenen sind in drei Elemente unterteilt: Sockel, Terminal und Plattform. Der Sockel hat unterschiedliche Höhen und ist so konzipiert, dass er die Lasten entsprechend dem jeweiligen Standort verteilt, insbesondere bei der Aufstellung auf begrenzten Decks oder bestehenden Konstruktionen. Das Terminal ist mit der FATO-Plattform (Final Approach and Take-Off) auf dem Oberdeck durch ein perforiertes Material verbunden, das einen ausreichenden Luftstrom ermöglicht, um Turbulenzen zu vermeiden. Sowohl die Terminaleinheiten als auch die Plattform bestehen aus vormontierten Leichtbaumodulen.

Der VoloPort bietet eine erweiterbare, netzwerkfähige Vertiport-Lösung für dichte städtische Gebiete, kann aber auch neben Verkehrsterminals in ländlichen Gegenden eingesetzt werden.

Projektpartner
Georg Schmidthals, Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit
Designleitung
Marta Piaseczynska
Projektleitung
Sebastian Massmann
Projektteam
Julia Korpacka, Tatiana Lebedeva