Wriezener Karree

Back
Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree
Mixed UseWorkRetail
Project type
Office, retail, new work
Status
In progress
Location
Berlin, Germany
Time
2019–2023
Size
37,000m² (GFA)
Client
TLG IMMOBILIEN AG

GRAFT was commissioned as a general planner to develop an innovative new work office campus on the site of Berlin’s former Wriezener Bahnhof railway station.

During the GDR era, the residential buildings that had survived World War II were demolished and the area was redeveloped for commercial use, with the last tenant being a large-scale industrial furniture store. Today, most people know the site because of its prominent neighbor, the internationally renowned techno club Berghain.

Wriezener Karree

Now, the area is set to become the site of a new urban quarter. The Wriezener Karree will be the first block in the development and thus crucial for identity generation. Planned mainly to be an office building, it will feature an additional mix of small-scale businesses on the ground floor, consisting of small retail units, gastronomy, supermarkets, and sports facilities. These amenities will lend a new urban identity to the wider neighborhood, which until now had a pre-urban, commercial feel.

GRAFT divided the desired program volume into three buildings on the roughly 14,200m² plot. A diagonal passage between two city squares will create a public thoroughfare and link the site to the adjoining neighborhood. This passageway will form a connection between the Ostbahnhof train station—a main regional infrastructure hub— and the iconic Berghain building and its surrounding green space.

Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree

A series of publicly owned plazas and privately donated public spaces will create a new urban choreography, forming the “backbone” of the new quarter and ultimately connecting the area with the vibrant neighborhood of Friedrichshain to the north.

Wriezener Karree

On this block that will be the first to be developed, a green landscape will unite the three buildings, creating a lush urban oasis in their inner courtyards—in an environment still heavily influenced by industrial and commercial uses. A landscaped bridge will cross the diagonally intersecting “broadway” and create an exciting floating garden above street level. The large circular opening above this passage seeks to let in light and create visual connections.

In line with the revolution of workplace behavior in the New Work generation, the main goal was to create innovative environments with a focus on flexibility. To break down the large urban volume to a human scale, GRAFT divided the program into individual “working neighborhoods,” making the buildings appear as a collage of stacked houses and reducing the visual impact on the surroundings. The individual units can be deciphered as forms of personalized identity per cubic volume and reference playful and organic narratives on this former train yard site.

Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree

The intentionally inexact arrangements of the neighborhood building blocks create areas of “in-between,” where special communal functions and collaborative programs of the working campus are located. These empty spaces are places of encounter within the fabric of this complex, allowing for movement and participation, communication, and interaction. Each office unit has its own private void. They create meeting points, informal spaces for communication and serve as connecting elements between the floors and units.

Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree

The appearance of the stacked boxes references the scale of Gründerzeit parcellation, relating to the narrative of the site’s former industrial character, and has a rigorous and effective organizational structure. In contrast, the voids are lighter and more artistic in their design, thus conveying the inner life to the outside.

Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree

To address the topic of mobility, the project envisages a separate underground bicycle lane. With attractive, prioritized access for cyclists, independent of car traffic, the design will promote the use of bicycles as a means of transport among future users.

Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree

As well as the focus on innovative working environments and user comfort, great importance is attached to sustainability: a coordinated energy concept was developed in collaboration with climate engineers from Transsolar and a high-level LEED certification is being sought.

Project Partners
Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit, Dennis Hawner
Project director
Anna Wittwer
Project Lead
Julie Hoffmann
Project team

Martin Bernard, Lorenzo Cristoforetti, Natalie Dillon, Benjamin Goern, Jacek Jara, Harpreet Kaur, Sebastian Massmann, Philippos Michael, Marco Migliavacca, Javier Nieto Cano, Veronika Partelova, Marta Piaseczynska-Karaivanov, Ana Lopez de Rego Curros, Primoz Strazar, Lorenzo Javier Simón Santillana, Laurent Thill, Ivan-Felipe Ucrós Polley, Camila Vieire Préve, David Wehrmeister, Philip Weibhauser, David Josef Wurth, Cansu Yücel, Bojan Zdravkovic

Wriezener Karree

Zurück
Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree
WorkRetail
Projektart
Büro, Einzelhandel, neue Arbeitswelten
Status
Im Bau
Ort
Berlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum
2019–2023
Größe
37.000m² (BGF)
Auftraggeber
TLG IMMOBILIEN AG

GRAFT wurde als Generalplaner beauftragt, einen innovativen neuen Bürocampus auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Wriezener Bahnhofs in Berlin zu entwickeln.

Zu DDR-Zeiten wurden die Wohnhäuser, die den Zweiten Weltkrieg überstanden hatten, abgerissen und das Areal für eine gewerbliche Nutzung neu bebaut. Letzter Mieter war ein Industriemöbelhaus. Heute kennen die meisten Menschen das Gelände wegen seines prominenten Nachbarn, dem international bekannten Techno-Club Berghain.

Wriezener Karree

Nun soll auf dem Areal ein neues Stadtquartier entstehen. Das Wriezener Karree wird der erste Block der Entwicklung und damit entscheidend für die Identitätsbildung des Geländes sein. Hauptsächlich als Bürogebäude geplant, wird es im Erdgeschoss zusätzlich einen kleinteiligen Branchenmix aus Einzelhandel, Gastronomie, Supermärkten und Sportangeboten aufweisen. Diese Angebote werden dem bisher eher vorstädtisch und kommerziell geprägten Quartier eine neue urbane Identität verleihen.

GRAFT divided the desired program volume into three buildings on the roughly 14,200m² plot. A diagonal passage between two city squares will create a public thoroughfare and link the site to the adjoining neighborhood. This passageway will form a connection between the Ostbahnhof train station—a main regional infrastructure hub— and the iconic Berghain building and its surrounding green space.

Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree

Eine Reihe von öffentlichen Plätzen und privat gestifteten öffentlichen Räumen wird eine neue urbane Choreographie schaffen, die das "Rückgrat" des neuen Viertels bildet und das Gebiet schließlich mit dem pulsierenden Stadtteil Friedrichshain im Norden verbindet.

Wriezener Karree

In diesem Block, der als erster entwickelt wird, wird eine grüne Landschaft die drei Gebäude vereinen und in ihren Innenhöfen eine üppige urbane Oase schaffen - in einer Umgebung, die noch stark von industriellen und gewerblichen Nutzungen geprägt ist. Eine landschaftlich gestaltete Brücke wird den sich diagonal kreuzenden Weg überqueren und einen spannenden, schwebenden Garten über dem Straßenniveau schaffen. Die große kreisförmige Öffnung über dieser Passage soll Tageslicht hereinlassen und Sichtbeziehungen zwischen den verschiedenen Ebenen schaffen.

Im Einklang mit der Veränderung in neuen von Arbeitswelten in der Generation New Work war das Hauptziel, innovative Umgebungen mit maximaler Flexibilität zu schaffen. Um das große urbane Volumen auf einen menschlichen Maßstab herunterzubrechen, teilte GRAFT das Programm in einzelne "Arbeitsnachbarschaften" auf, wodurch die Gebäude wie eine Collage aus gestapelten Häusern wirken und die visuelle Wirkung auf die Umgebung reduziert wird. Die einzelnen Einheiten lassen sich als Formen der personalisierten Identität pro Kubikvolumen entschlüsseln.

Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree

Die absichtlich ungenauen Anordnungen der Gebäudeblöcke in der Nachbarschaft schaffen Bereiche des "Dazwischen", in denen sich spezielle Gemeinschaftsfunktionen und kollaborative Programme des Arbeitscampus befinden. Diese leeren Räume sind Orte der Begegnung innerhalb des Gefüges dieses Komplexes, die Bewegung und Beteiligung, Kommunikation und Interaktion ermöglichen. Jede Büroeinheit hat ihre eigene private Leerstelle. Sie schaffen Treffpunkte, informelle Kommunikationsräume und dienen als verbindende Elemente zwischen den Etagen und Einheiten.

Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree

Das Erscheinungsbild der gestapelten Boxen verweist auf den Maßstab der gründerzeitlichen Parzellierung, bezieht sich aber auch auf die Erzählung des ehemaligen industriellen Charakters des Geländes und hat eine strenge und effektive Organisationsstruktur. Im Gegensatz dazu sind die Leerräume leichter und künstlerischer gestaltet und transportieren so das Innenleben nach außen.

Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree

Um das Thema Mobilität zu adressieren, sieht das Projekt eine separate unterirdische Fahrradspur vor. Mit einem attraktiven, priorisierten Zugang für Radfahrer, unabhängig vom Autoverkehr, wird der Entwurf die Nutzung des Fahrrads als Verkehrsmittel bei den zukünftigen Nutzern fördern.

Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree
Wriezener Karree

Neben dem Fokus auf innovative Arbeitswelten und Nutzerkomfort wird großer Wert auf Nachhaltigkeit gelegt: In Zusammenarbeit mit den Klimaingenieuren von Transsolar wurde ein abgestimmtes Energiekonzept entwickelt und eine LEED-Zertifizierung wird angestrebt.

Projektpartner
Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit, Dennis Hawner
Projektdirektorin
Anna Wittwer
Projektleitung

Julie Hoffmann

Projektteam

Martin Bernard, Lorenzo Cristoforetti, Natalie Dillon, Benjamin Goern, Jacek Jara, Harpreet Kaur, Sebastian Massmann, Philippos Michael, Marco Migliavacca, Javier Nieto Cano, Veronika Partelova, Marta Piaseczynska-Karaivanov, Ana Lopez de Rego Curros, Primoz Strazar, Lorenzo Javier Simón Santillana, Laurent Thill, Ivan-Felipe Ucrós Polley, Camila Vieire Préve, David Wehrmeister, Philip Weibhauser, David Josef Wurth, Cansu Yücel, Bojan Zdravkovic