Freiheit Berlin
Exhibition / StageCultural
Exhibition / StageCultural
Project typeMonument design
StatusCompleted
LocationBerlin, Germany
Time2018

In May 2018, a new monument championing Berlin’s spirit of freedom stands in front of the entrance to Berlin Central Station facing Washingtonplatz. The monument takes the form of the “be Berlin” campaign hashtag #FREIHEITBERLIN (FREEDOMBERLIN) in huge letters.

ADMIRALSPALAST
WorkAdaptive ReuseHistoric Preservation
WorkAdaptive ReuseHistoric Preservation
Project typeOffice building, new construction, refurbishment
StatusUnder construction
LocationBerlin, Germany
Time2017–2021
Size9,600m²

GRAFT was commissioned for the renovation and expansion of the Admiralspalast, a prestigious, historically listed building complex located between Friedrichstrasse and Planckstrasse in Berlin-Mitte.

Affordable Housing Namibia
Architecture ActivismModular ArchitectureResidentialUrban Planning
Architecture ActivismModular ArchitectureResidentialUrban Planning
Project typeAffordable housing, prototypical urban planning of 1,000 housing units
StatusOngoing
LocationWalvis Bay, Ongwediva and Ondangwa, Namibia
Time2014–2015
Size41m² apartments – 205m² housing units

Namibia is experiencing a housing crisis with half a million people living in unsafe shack settlements. The average prices for houses and apartments have become unaffordable for over 90% of the population. In a study commissioned by KfW Bankengruppe, GRAFT identified several approaches to reducing construction costs by up to 30% compared with the cost of a comparable National Housing Enterprise unit.

air taxi volo-port
BrandingMobility
BrandingMobility
Project typeVertiports, infrastructure, mobility architecture
StatusCompetition, 1st prize, together with GRAFT Brandlab and Arup
LocationWorldwide
TimeOngoing

The German urban air taxi company Volocopter has developed the first fully electronic, autonomous vertical take-off and landing aircraft (eVTOL), an ideal solution for use in urban areas. Together with GRAFT and Arup, the Berlin agency GRAFT Brandlab won the competition to design a modular vertiport concept for Volocopter.

Airport Expo Gardens
Urban Planning
Urban Planning
Project typeUrban Planning
StatusDesign
LocationBerlin-Brandenburg, Germany
Time2012

Masterplan for commercial development at BER Airport

almstadtstrasse graft
ResidentialHistoric Preservation
ResidentialHistoric Preservation
Project typeRestoration of a listed Baroque Palais
StatusBuilt
LocationBerlin, Germany
Time2011
Size510m²

Modern architectural insertions create a narrative throughout the building, blending smooth, metallic materials respectfully into the historic, textured and profiled building structure.

Mendoza
CommercialHospitalityRetail
CommercialHospitalityRetail
Project typeWinery, hospitality, retail
StatusIn progress
LocationUco Valley, Mendoza, Argentina
TimeOngoing

The Uco Valley in the province of Mendoza is located in the foothills of the majestic Andes Mountains. Wine produced in this region is considered among the best in Argentina. In this context, GRAFT was commissioned to design a unique location dedicated to wine production, based on the AQUI brand’s philosophy of bringing people together through wine. To underline this, the winery also offers guest accommodation developed around the idea of creating rituals for a community brought together by their passion for wine.

Art Cloud
Exhibition / StageCulturalArchitecture Activism
Exhibition / StageCulturalArchitecture Activism
Project typeCultural development
StatusUnfinished
LocationSchlossplatz, Berlin, Germany
Time2006
Size+1,000m²

The Art Cloud is a concept for a place characterised by separation and division that exists in the here and now but breathes the identities of times past.

Auenflügel
ResidentialUrban Planning
ResidentialUrban Planning
Project typeMasterplanning, single-family houses, mixed use
StatusDesign completed
LocationFalkenberg, Berlin, Germany
Time2012
Size16,000m²

As part of the development of the northern Ahrensfelder Chaussee on the outskirts of Berlin, GRAFT planned a new residential district that will provide space for up to 2,200 people in 750 housing units.

 AUTOSTADT ROOF AND SERVICE PAVILION
MobilityBrandingCommercial
MobilityBrandingCommercial
Project typeUrban Planning
StatusBuilt
LocationWolfsburg, Germany
Time2012–2013

Driver assistance systems, including automatic parking, traffic sign recognition and automatic distance control are increasingly common in today’s cars. The new ‘Ausfahrt’ at the Autostadt in Wolfsburg offers visitors an opportunity to try out these and other technical assistance systems in models manufactured by Volkswagen to help ensure safer driving in road traffic. With an area of 15,000 square metres, the new driving attraction was built in ten months and opened in August 2013.

BRLO BRWHOUSE
HospitalityModular Architecture
HospitalityModular Architecture
Project typeMobile brewery and beer garden
StatusBuilt
LocationBerlin, Germany
Time2016
Size1,821m² (GFA)

In Berlin, on the site of “Urbane Mitte” between eastern and western part of Gleisdreieck Park, a mobile brewery and beer garden designed by GRAFT has been erected in summer 2016. The building volume of BRLO BRWHOUSE combines gastronomy, events, administration and the art of brewery and is remarkable for its container architecture in modular design.

bab atlas
Hospitality
Hospitality
Project typeHotel and resort design
StatusDesign
LocationMarrakesh, Morocco
Time2012
Size40,000m²

Bayerhaus
WorkHistoric Preservation
WorkHistoric Preservation
Project typeOffice, retail, residential, refurbishment, new construction
StatusUnder construction
LocationBerlin, Germany
TimeOngoing
Size6000m² (GFA)

The Bayerhaus, a seven-story office block built as the administrative center of the Bayer pharmaceutical company in the early 1950s, was one of the first post-World War II buildings to be erected in West Berlin. It is now set to receive an extra story and a new side wing. In addition, the façade facing the rear yard, which was cladded with fiber cement plates in the 1980s, will be removed and re-rendered, restoring its original appearance, with its grid-like relief and large window openings.

BEIJING CHATEAU Representative party venue, company guest house, and luxury private apartment – these are the varying functions that the showroom for a large-scale development of high-end condominiums needed to fulfil. To this end, GRAFT developed a flexible plan, dominated by a dynamic sculptural element that separates the private rooms from the public reception areas. Semi-transparent spatial dividers, carved in traditional Chinese lattice patterns, can be used to quickly partition off the space for intimate family functions or to open it up for entertaining.
Residential
Residential
Project typeInterior design, loft
StatusBuilt
LocationBeijing, China
Time2006
Size450m²

Representative party venue, company guest house, and luxury private apartment – these are the varying functions that the showroom for a large-scale development of high-end condominiums needed to fulfil. To this end, GRAFT developed a flexible plan, dominated by a dynamic sculptural element that separates the private rooms from the public reception areas. Semi-transparent spatial dividers, carved in traditional Chinese lattice patterns, can be used to quickly partition off the space for intimate family functions or to open it up for entertaining.

bibliolounge
Product Design
Product Design
Project typeFurniture
StatusBuilt
LocationWorldwide
Time2008

Transitional fossils are evolutionary biological organisms featuring characteristics of two groups of living beings. However, they are not straightly related to these two groups, they could even be close relatives. Therefore, transitional fossils are also titled intermediate form or transitional form. Thus, they are organisms which unite characters of phylogenetic older and phylogenetic younger biological groups.

Newsletter

Freiheit Berlin
Exhibition / StageCultural
Exhibition / StageCultural
ProjektartDenkmal
StatusFertiggestellt
OrtBerlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum2018

Vor dem Eingang des Berliner Hauptbahnhofs auf dem Washingtonplatz stand im Mai 2018 ein riesiger Schriftzug als Denkmal für die Freiheit. Getreu der „be Berlin “-Kampagne unter dem Thema der Freiheit prägte #FREIHEITBERLIN in etwa 25 mal 2,5 Meter den Platz und vermittelte die Botschaft der Freiheit. Der Schriftzug wurde von GRAFT in Kooperation mit Graft Brandlab entworfen.

ADMIRALSPALAST
WorkAdaptive ReuseHistoric Preservation
WorkAdaptive ReuseHistoric Preservation
ProjektartBürogebäude, Neubau, Renovierung, Denkmalschutz
StatusIm Bau
OrtBerlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum2017–2021
Größe9.600m²

GRAFT wurde mit der Sanierung und Erweiterung des Admiralspalastes beauftragt, einem repräsentativen, denkmalgeschützten Gebäudekomplex zwischen Friedrichstraße und Planckstraße in Berlin-Mitte.

Affordable Housing Namibia
Architecture ActivismModular ArchitectureResidentialUrban Planning
Architecture ActivismModular ArchitectureResidentialUrban Planning
ProjektartBezahlbarer Wohnraum, prototypische Stadtplanung für 1.000 Hauseinheiten
StatusFortlaufend
OrtWalvis Bay, Ongwediva und Ondangwa, Namibia
Zeitraum2014–2015
Größe41m² Wohnungen – 205m² Hauseinheiten

Namibia erlebt aktuell eine Wohnungskrise. Eine halbe Million Menschen lebt in unsicheren Barackensiedlungen. Die durchschnittlichen Preise für Häuser und Wohnungen sind für über 90 % der Bevölkerung unerschwinglich geworden. In einer von der KfW Bankengruppe in Auftrag gegebenen Studie entwickelte GRAFT mehrere Ansätze, um die Baukosten um bis zu 30 % gegenüber den Kosten eines vergleichbaren Hauses der National Housing Enterprise zu senken.

air taxi volo-port
BrandingMobility
BrandingMobility
ProjektartVertiports, Infrastruktur, Mobilitätsarchitektur
StatusWettbewerb, 1. Preis, zusammen mit GRAFT Brandlab und Arup
OrtWeltweit
ZeitraumAktuell

Das deutsche Air Taxi-Unternehmen Volocopter hat das erste vollelektronische, autonome Senkrechtstart- und -landeflugzeug (eVTOL) entwickelt, eine ideale Lösung für den Einsatz in urbanen Gebieten. Gemeinsam mit GRAFT und Arup gewann die Berliner Agentur GRAFT Brandlab den Wettbewerb, ein modulares Vertiport-Konzept für Volocopter zu entwerfen.

Airport Expo Gardens
Urban Planning
Urban Planning
ProjektartStadtplanung
StatusDesign
OrtBerlin-Brandenburg, Deutschland
Zeitraum2012

Masterplan für gewerbliche Entwicklung am Flughafen BER

almstadtstrasse graft
ResidentialHistoric Preservation
ResidentialHistoric Preservation
ProjektartRestoration of a listed Baroque Palais
StatusBuilt
OrtBerlin, Germany
Zeitraum2011
Größe510m²

Restaurierung eines barocken Palais in Berlin, Mitte.

Mendoza
CommercialHospitalityRetail
CommercialHospitalityRetail
ProjektartWeingut, Gastgewerbe, Einzelhandel
StatusIn Bearbeitung
OrtUco Valley, Mendoza, Argentinien
ZeitraumAktuell

Das Uco-Tal in der Provinz Mendoza befindet sich in den Ausläufern der majestätischen Anden. Der in dieser Region produzierte Wein gilt als einer der besten Argentiniens. Hier wurde GRAFT beauftragt, einen einzigartigen Ort zu gestalten, der sich der Weinproduktion widmet und auf der Markenphilosophie von AQUI basiert, Menschen durch Wein zusammenzubringen. Um dies zu unterstreichen, bietet das Weingut auch Gästeunterkünfte.

Art Cloud
Exhibition / StageCulturalArchitecture Activism
Exhibition / StageCulturalArchitecture Activism
ProjektartAusstellungsdesign
StatusNicht fertiggestellt
OrtSchlossplatz, Berlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum2006
Größe+1.000m²

Entwurf einer ephemeren Wolke, die für einen Moment stillzustehen scheint. Wie eine behütende Hülle, bildet sie einen transparenten aber klimatisch geschützten Raum für ein Museum.

Auenflügel
ResidentialUrban Planning
ResidentialUrban Planning
ProjektartMasterplanung, Einfamilienhäuser, Mischnutzung
StatusEntwurf fertiggestellt
OrtFalkenberg, Berlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum2012
Größe16.000m²

Im Rahmen der Bebauung nördlich der Ahrensfelder Chaussee am Berliner Stadtrand wurde eine Siedlung geplant, die in rund 750 Hauseinheiten Raum für bis zu 2.200 Menschen bietet.

 AUTOSTADT ROOF AND SERVICE PAVILION
MobilityBrandingCommercial
MobilityBrandingCommercial
ProjektartStadtplanung
StatusGebaut
OrtWolfsburg, Deutschland
Zeitraum2012–2013

Automatisches Einparken, Verkehrszeichenerkennung oder automatische Distanzregelung – in modernen Fahrzeugen unterstützen immer öfter Assistenzsysteme die Fahrer im Straßenverkehr. Auf der neuen „Ausfahrt“ können Gäste der Autostadt in Wolfsburg diese und weitere technische Helfer in den Modellen von Volkswagen kennenlernen, um sich dann im Straßenverkehr sicher zu bewegen. In rund neun Monaten Bauzeit ist auf 15.000 Quadratmetern vor dem Kundencenter diese neue Fahrattraktion entstanden.

BRLO BRWHOUSE
HospitalityModular Architecture
HospitalityModular Architecture
ProjektartMobile Brauerei und Biergarten
StatusGebaut
OrtBerlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum2016
Größe1.821m²

Auf dem Gelände der „Urbanen Mitte“ Berlin, gelegen zwischen Ost- und Westpark des Parks am Gleisdreieck, wurde im Sommer 2016 ein von GRAFT entworfenes mobiles Braugasthaus mit Biergarten errichtet. Der Baukörper des BRLO BRWHOUSE zeichnet sich durch seine Containerarchitektur in Modulbauweise aus und vereint Flächen für Gastronomie, Events, Administration und Braukunst.

bab atlas
Hospitality
Hospitality
ProjektartHotel und Resort Design
StatusDesign
OrtMarrakesch, Marokko
Zeitraum2012
Größe40.000m²

Design für ein Resort in Marokko

Bayerhaus
WorkHistoric Preservation
WorkHistoric Preservation
ProjektartBüro, Einzelhandel, Wohnungsbau, Renovierung, Neubau
StatusIm Bau
OrtBerlin, Deutschland
ZeitraumAktuell
Größe6.000m² (BGF)

Das Bayerhaus, ein siebenstöckiges Bürogebäude, das Anfang der 50er Jahre als Verwaltungszentrum des Pharmakonzerns Bayer errichtet wurde, war eines der ersten Gebäude, die nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg in West-Berlin gebaut wurden. Jetzt soll es um ein zusätzliches Stockwerk und einen neuen Seitenflügel ergänzt werden. Außerdem wird die in den 1980er Jahren mit Faserzementplatten verkleidete Fassade zum Hinterhof entfernt und neu verputzt, um das ursprüngliche Erscheinungsbild mit dem gitterartigen Relief und den großen Fensteröffnungen wiederherzustellen.

BEIJING CHATEAU Representative party venue, company guest house, and luxury private apartment – these are the varying functions that the showroom for a large-scale development of high-end condominiums needed to fulfil. To this end, GRAFT developed a flexible plan, dominated by a dynamic sculptural element that separates the private rooms from the public reception areas. Semi-transparent spatial dividers, carved in traditional Chinese lattice patterns, can be used to quickly partition off the space for intimate family functions or to open it up for entertaining.
Residential
Residential
ProjektartLoft, Apartment
StatusGebaut
OrtPeking, China
Zeitraum2006
Größe450m²

Repräsentativer Veranstaltungsort. Gästehaus des Unternehmens. Privates Luxusapartment. Das sind die unterschiedlichen Funktionen, die in dem Showroom dieses großen Projekts einer Luxus-Eigentumswohnung Platz finden mussten. GRAFT hat daher einen flexiblen Plan entwickelt, der von einem dynamischen skulpturalen Element dominiert wird und private von öffentlichen Räumen trennt. Diese interne Struktur beginnt an der Treppe, führt zur Decke, verändert Wände, verformt sich zu Tresen, wird zu einer volumetrischen Unterkunft in privaten Räumen. Halbtransparente Raumtrenner, entworfen nach traditionellen chinesischen Gittermustern können schnell Räume für öffentliche Veranstaltungen öffnen oder für private Funktionen geschlossen werden.

 VISITOR AND INFORMATION CENTRE GERMAN BUNDESTAG
CulturalInstitutionalEducation
CulturalInstitutionalEducation
ProjektartBesucherzentrum
StatusWettbewerbsdesign
OrtBerlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum2016
Größe7.700m²

Der Gebäudeentwurf von GRAFT versteht sich als Erweiterung der bestehenden Architektur des Reichstags in den nördlichen Bereich des Tiergartens. Hier erfährt der Besucher bereits durch die Form des Gebäudes die gemeinsame Verbindung: Wie die „Wurzeln der Demokratie“ ragt der Pavillonentwurf aus dem Boden hervor. Im Herzen des Neubaus befindet sich ein Abbild des Plenarsaals, in dem die Besucher über die bevorstehende Besichtigung des Reichstagsgebäudes informiert werden.

Newsletter