ICU Rooms Charité
HealthcareArchitecture ActivismResearch
HealthcareArchitecture ActivismResearch
Project typeHealing architecture, evidence-based design, Intensive care units, hospital, health care architecture, scientific research project
StatusConstruction completed; research ongoing
LocationBerlin, Germany
Time2011–2013

In their five-year “Parametric Dream Room” research program, GRAFT has revealed the huge potential for collaboration between doctors, designers and the healthcare industry in the design of beneficial medical environments. The two new ICU rooms focus on noise control, lighting conditions and new approaches to healthcare and represent a paradigm shift from abstract, technical considerations towards the design of positive human environments based on empirical data.

kinderdentist
Healthcare
Healthcare
Project typeHealthcare
StatusBuilt
LocationBerlin, Germany
Time2008–2015

The Mokabberi dental clinic, specializing in the treatment of children, redefines this experience in their branch office in Berlin’s Prenzlauer Berg district, offering young visitors an imaginative space with the qualities of an indoor playground.

Pantene Hair Spa
BrandingRetailHealthcare
BrandingRetailHealthcare
Project typeHealthcare, Retail
StatusBuilt
LocationTour Hamburg, Düsseldorf, Munich, Berlin, Germany
Time2011
Size90m²

The Pantene Hair Spa is a place of relaxation and contemplation inside the hectic bustle of the city.

KU 64 Berlin
HealthcareCommercial
HealthcareCommercial
Project typeHealthcare, Commercial
StatusBuilt
LocationBerlin, Germany
Time2005–2011

The aim of this project was to enable patients to forget about their fears and relax in ways they would typically experience in a spa, cafe, restaurant or hotel. Why not embellish the reality of a dental clinic with experiences of beauty, health and wellness?

Newsletter

ICU Rooms Charité
HealthcareArchitecture ActivismResearch
HealthcareArchitecture ActivismResearch
ProjektartHealing architecture, evidenzbasieres Entwerfen, Intensivzimmer, Krankenhaus, Gesundheitsbauten, wissenschaftliches Studienprojekt
StatusGebaut; Studie fortlaufend
OrtBerlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum2011–2013

Im fünfjährigen Forschungsprogramm "Parametric Dream Room" hat GRAFT das große Potenzial für die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Ärzten, Designern und der Gesundheitsindustrie bei der Gestaltung gesundheitsfördernder medizinischer Umgebungen aufgezeigt. Die beiden neuen Intensivzimmer konzentrieren sich auf die Parameter Lärmkontrolle, Lichtverhältnisse und neue Ansätze in der Gesundheitsversorgung. Sie stellen einen Paradigmenwechsel von abstrakten, technischen Überlegungen hin zur Gestaltung positiver menschlicher Umgebungen auf der Grundlage empirischer Daten dar.

kinderdentist
Healthcare
Healthcare
ProjektartGesundheit
StatusGebaut
OrtBerlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum2008–2015

Gleich am Eingang der Praxis von Dr. Mokabberi staunen Kinder und Eltern vor einer sich aufbäumenden Welle, die durch das gesamte Gebäude fließt und dabei die Funktionen von Decke, Wand, Counter und Sitzlounge übernimmt. Es entsteht so ein Raumgefüge, bei dem die Räume durch die Gestik der Welle ineinander verwoben werden.

Pantene Hair Spa
BrandingRetailHealthcare
BrandingRetailHealthcare
ProjektartGesundheit, Einzelhandel
StatusGebaut
OrtTour Hamburg, Düsseldorf, München, Berlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum2011
Größe90m²

Das Pantene Haar-Spa bietet einen Ort der Ruhe und Kontemplation im hektischen Trubel der Stadt.

KU 64 Berlin
HealthcareCommercial
HealthcareCommercial
ProjektartGseundheit
StatusGebaut
OrtBerlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum2005–2011

Das Ziel dieses Projekts war es, den Patienten zu ermöglichen, ihre Ängste zu vergessen und sich so zu entspannen, wie sie es typischerweise in einem Spa, Café, Restaurant oder Hotel erleben würden. Warum nicht die Realität einer Zahnklinik mit Erfahrungen von Schönheit, Gesundheit und Wellness verschönern?

Newsletter