mar2020 graft international retail presence mercedes
CommercialRetail
CommercialRetail
Project typeBrand architecture, retail
StatusCompleted
LocationWorldwide
TimeOngoing

The world’s first retail outlets with Mercedes-Benz’s new brand identity can already be seen in car dealerships in Hong Kong, Beijing, Budapest and Istanbul. For three years, GRAFT has been working on concept development and engineering creating design guidelines and planning tools that will be implemented at sales and service locations around the world. The planning catalogue ranges from specifications for the facade and roof design to the interior design of customer contact areas, including media integration and furniture design.

ADMIRALSPALAST
WorkAdaptive ReuseHistoric Preservation
WorkAdaptive ReuseHistoric Preservation
Project typeOffice building, new construction, refurbishment
StatusUnder construction
LocationBerlin, Germany
Time2017–2021
Size9,600m²

GRAFT was commissioned for the renovation and expansion of the Admiralspalast, a prestigious, historically listed building complex located between Friedrichstrasse and Planckstrasse in Berlin-Mitte.

Mendoza
CommercialHospitalityRetail
CommercialHospitalityRetail
Project typeWinery, hospitality, retail
StatusIn progress
LocationUco Valley, Mendoza, Argentina
TimeOngoing

The Uco Valley in the province of Mendoza is located in the foothills of the majestic Andes Mountains. Wine produced in this region is considered among the best in Argentina. In this context, GRAFT was commissioned to design a unique location dedicated to wine production, based on the AQUI brand’s philosophy of bringing people together through wine. To underline this, the winery also offers guest accommodation developed around the idea of creating rituals for a community brought together by their passion for wine.

air taxi volo-port
BrandingMobility
BrandingMobility
Project typeVertiports, infrastructure, mobility architecture
StatusCompetition, 1st prize, together with GRAFT Brandlab and Arup
LocationWorldwide
TimeOngoing

The German urban air taxi company Volocopter has developed the first fully electronic, autonomous vertical take-off and landing aircraft (eVTOL), an ideal solution for use in urban areas. Together with GRAFT and Arup, the Berlin agency GRAFT Brandlab won the competition to design a modular vertiport concept for Volocopter.

youth hostel munich
HospitalityAdaptive Reuse
HospitalityAdaptive Reuse
Project typeYouth Hostel, Multi-Family
StatusUnder construction
LocationMunich, Germany
TimeOngoing

Meeting place between origins and departure The Bavarian association of German youth hostels invited five architecture offices to design the modernization of one of Germany’s oldest hostels located in the centre of Munich. Primary focus was given to the extension of the existing building with an innovative and high quality design that embodies the fundamental values of the association in a new way.

ICU Rooms Charité
HealthcareArchitecture ActivismResearch
HealthcareArchitecture ActivismResearch
Project typeHealing architecture, evidence-based design, Intensive care units, hospital, health care architecture, scientific research project
StatusConstruction completed; research ongoing
LocationBerlin, Germany
Time2011–2013

In their five-year “Parametric Dream Room” research program, GRAFT has revealed the huge potential for collaboration between doctors, designers and the healthcare industry in the design of beneficial medical environments. The two new ICU rooms focus on noise control, lighting conditions and new approaches to healthcare and represent a paradigm shift from abstract, technical considerations towards the design of positive human environments based on empirical data.

Wriezener Karree
WorkRetail
WorkRetail
Project typeOffice, retail, new work
StatusIn progress
LocationBerlin, Germany
Time2019–2023
Size37,000m² (GFA)

GRAFT was commissioned as a general planner to develop an innovative new work office campus on the site of Berlin’s former Wriezener Bahnhof railway station.

MK7 Office Building Munich
WorkRetail
WorkRetail
Project typeOffice, retail
StatusCompetition
LocationMunich, Germany
Time2020
Size26090m² (GFA)

On the Werksviertel site at Munich's Ostbahnhof station, a new district is being created that combines working, living and housing. The goal of the MK 7 competition is to develop a creative office building that stands out as an individual building block of the new quarter and forms an independent, distinctive address.

Trilux Light Campus
WorkCommercialExhibition / Stage
WorkCommercialExhibition / Stage
Project typeOffice Building
StatusBuilt
LocationCologne, Germany
Time2017–2019
Size2,794m²

GRAFT designed the new campus of the German lighting company TRILUX in Cologne. The design of the rectangular building is strongly inspired by the client’s craft: light, refraction and reflections are reflected – in the truest sense of the word – throughout the building and its design embodies the precision of lamp manufacture. The continuous, staggered glass façade presents a changing pattern of reflections from different viewpoints and draws inspiration from the aesthetics of spotlight reflectors, which optimize the optical distribution of the light source. To achieve this, each façade module is rotated at the same angle about its central axis. The overall impression is of a monolithic building that produces different light and depth effects depending on the point of view.

Wave title image
Residential
Residential
Project typeNew construction of two residential buildings
StatusBuilt
LocationBerlin, Germany
Time2016–2019
Size16,000m²

In late summer 2019, two residential buildings were completed on the north bank of the River Spree in Berlin’s Osthafen between the districts of Kreuzberg, Friedrichshain and Treptow. The concept for the new buildings derives from the particular qualities of its waterside location. The design for the ensemble provides public access to the riverside zone along the Spree.

KfW Creative Lab
WorkInstitutional
WorkInstitutional
Project typeOffice, new work environments, new construction
StatusDesign
LocationBerlin, Germany
Time2018

Tasked with designing a new space for the KfW Campus, a creative laboratory dedicated to addressing the future demands of the KfW Bank, GRAFT proposed the addition of two-stories to the company’s current location near the Gendarmenmarkt in the center of Berlin. This new creative lab is conceived as a clearly recognizable, accessible place of inspiration within the city block.

Ritterstrasse Cloud Space
WorkRetail
WorkRetail
Project typeOffice, retail, new work, co-working
StatusCompetition
LocationBerlin, Germany
Time2018
Size8,000m²

Participating in a 2018 competition to design an office building in the Berlin district of Kreuzberg, GRAFT proposed a concept that incorporates new theories of working environments. The design features a flexible building plan to meet the needs of 21st-century office formats, creating various zones with an emphasis on efficiency and functionality.

 UNBUILDING WALLS – GERMAN PAVILLON 2018
CulturalExhibition / StageInstitutionalResearch
CulturalExhibition / StageInstitutionalResearch
Project typeExhibition
StatusCompleted
LocationVenice, Italy
Time2017–2018

FROM DEATH STRIP TO FREESPACE For 28 years, Germany has been united – exactly as long as the Berlin Wall existed (1961–1989). On the occasion of this parallel, GRAFT and Marianne Birthler are curating the exhibition “Unbuilding Walls” at the German Pavilion at the 16th International Architecture Exhibition in Venice.

Showpalace Munich Apassionata Equila Land
Sports and RecreationCulturalExhibition / StageBranding
Sports and RecreationCulturalExhibition / StageBranding
Project typeShow palace for a multimedia horse show
StatusBuilt
LocationMunich, Germany
Time2016–2017
Size5,000m² (GFA)

The Showpalast seats 1,700 spectators in front of a 40-metre-long stage specially designed for the unique horse show. The layout ensures that all visitors have a clear and close-up view of the stage due to the limited number of rows.

Urban Nation Museum
CulturalInstitutionalHistoric PreservationExhibition / Stage
CulturalInstitutionalHistoric PreservationExhibition / Stage
Project typeMuseum, exhibition space, refurbishment
StatusBuilt
LocationBerlin
Time2017
Size500m² exhibition space

The Urban Nation Museum for Urban Contemporary Art—or Urban Nation Museum for short—is the first museum for urban art in Germany and is housed in a former residential building in the Schöneberg district of Berlin.

Newsletter

mar2020 graft international retail presence mercedes
CommercialRetail
CommercialRetail
ProjektartMarkenarchitektur, Retail
StatusGebaut
OrtWeltweit
ZeitraumAktuell

Mit Autohäusern in Hong Kong, Peking, Budapest und Istanbul eröffnen bereits weltweit die ersten Betriebe mit dem neuen Markenauftritt von Mercedes-Benz im Retail. GRAFT arbeitet seit drei Jahren im Bereich Konzeptentwicklung und Engineering an den Gestaltungsrichtlinien und Planungshilfen, die für Handels- und Servicestandorte weltweit Anwendung finden. Der Planungskatalog reicht dabei von Fassaden- und Dachgestaltung über die Innenarchitektur der Kundenkontaktbereiche bis zur Gestaltung der Medienintegration und des Mobiliars.

ADMIRALSPALAST
WorkAdaptive ReuseHistoric Preservation
WorkAdaptive ReuseHistoric Preservation
ProjektartBürogebäude, Neubau, Renovierung, Denkmalschutz
StatusIm Bau
OrtBerlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum2017–2021
Größe9.600m²

GRAFT wurde mit der Sanierung und Erweiterung des Admiralspalastes beauftragt, einem repräsentativen, denkmalgeschützten Gebäudekomplex zwischen Friedrichstraße und Planckstraße in Berlin-Mitte.

Mendoza
CommercialHospitalityRetail
CommercialHospitalityRetail
ProjektartWeingut, Gastgewerbe, Einzelhandel
StatusIn Bearbeitung
OrtUco Valley, Mendoza, Argentinien
ZeitraumAktuell

Das Uco-Tal in der Provinz Mendoza befindet sich in den Ausläufern der majestätischen Anden. Der in dieser Region produzierte Wein gilt als einer der besten Argentiniens. Hier wurde GRAFT beauftragt, einen einzigartigen Ort zu gestalten, der sich der Weinproduktion widmet und auf der Markenphilosophie von AQUI basiert, Menschen durch Wein zusammenzubringen. Um dies zu unterstreichen, bietet das Weingut auch Gästeunterkünfte.

air taxi volo-port
BrandingMobility
BrandingMobility
ProjektartVertiports, Infrastruktur, Mobilitätsarchitektur
StatusWettbewerb, 1. Preis, zusammen mit GRAFT Brandlab und Arup
OrtWeltweit
ZeitraumAktuell

Das deutsche Air Taxi-Unternehmen Volocopter hat das erste vollelektronische, autonome Senkrechtstart- und -landeflugzeug (eVTOL) entwickelt, eine ideale Lösung für den Einsatz in urbanen Gebieten. Gemeinsam mit GRAFT und Arup gewann die Berliner Agentur GRAFT Brandlab den Wettbewerb, ein modulares Vertiport-Konzept für Volocopter zu entwerfen.

youth hostel munich
Hospitality
Hospitality
ProjektartJugendherberge
StatusIm Bau
OrtMünchen, Deutschland
ZeitraumAktuell
Größe10.500m²

Begegnungsort zwischen Herkunft und Aufbruch. Der Landesverband Bayern des Deutschen Jugendherbergswerks hatte fünf Architekturbüros eingeladen, einen Entwurf zur Modernisierung der ältesten Stadtjugendherberge Deutschlands zu erstellen. Im Fokus stand dabei die Erweiterung des denkmalgeschützen Altbaus durch einen innovativen und hochwertigen Designkomplex, der die Grundpfeiler dieser erfolgreichen Institution neu erlebbar macht.

ICU Rooms Charité
HealthcareArchitecture ActivismResearch
HealthcareArchitecture ActivismResearch
ProjektartHealing architecture, evidenzbasiertes Entwerfen, Intensivzimmer, Krankenhaus, Gesundheitsbauten, wissenschaftliches Studienprojekt
StatusGebaut; Studie fortlaufend
OrtBerlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum2011–2013

Im fünfjährigen Forschungsprogramm "Parametric Dream Room" hat GRAFT das große Potenzial für die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Ärzten, Designern und der Gesundheitsindustrie bei der Gestaltung gesundheitsfördernder medizinischer Umgebungen aufgezeigt. Die beiden neuen Intensivzimmer konzentrieren sich auf die Parameter Lärmkontrolle, Lichtverhältnisse und neue Ansätze in der Gesundheitsversorgung. Sie stellen einen Paradigmenwechsel von abstrakten, technischen Überlegungen hin zur Gestaltung positiver menschlicher Umgebungen auf der Grundlage empirischer Daten dar.

Wriezener Karree
WorkRetail
WorkRetail
ProjektartBüro, Einzelhandel, neue Arbeitswelten
StatusIm Bau
OrtBerlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum2019–2023
Größe37.000m² (BGF)

GRAFT wurde als Generalplaner beauftragt, einen innovativen neuen Bürocampus auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Wriezener Bahnhofs in Berlin zu entwickeln.

MK7
WorkRetail
WorkRetail
ProjektartArbeitswelten, Handel
StatusWettbewerbsbeitrag
OrtMünchen, Deutschland
Zeitraum2020
Größe26090 m² (BGF)

Auf dem Werksviertel Areal am Ostbahnhof München entsteht ein neuer Stadtteil, der zukünftig Arbeiten, Wohnen und Leben verbindet. Ziel des Wettbewerbs MK 7 ist die Entwicklung eines kreativen Bürogebäudes, das sich als individueller Baustein des neuen Viertels hervorhebt und eine eigenständige, markante Adresse bildet.

Trilux Light Campus
WorkCommercialExhibition / Stage
WorkCommercialExhibition / Stage
ProjektartBürogebäude
StatusGebaut
OrtKöln, Deutschland
Zeitraum2017–2019
Größe2.794m²

GRAFT entwarf den neuen Licht Campus der deutschen Beleuchtungsfirma TRILUX in Köln. Die Gestaltung des kubischen Baukörpers ist stark vom Handwerk des Bauherren inspiriert: Licht, Lichtbrechung und Reflexionen spiegeln sich im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes überall im Gebäude wider und repräsentieren die Präzision der Lampenherstellung.

Wave title image
Residential
Residential
ProjektartNeubau von zwei Wohngebäuden
StatusGebaut
OrtBerlin, Germany
Zeitraum2016–2019
Größe16.000m²

Im Spätsommer 2019 wurden zwei Wohngebäude am nördlichen Spreeufer des Berliner Osthafens zwischen den Bezirken Kreuzberg, Friedrichshain und Treptow fertiggestellt. Als konzeptionelles Leitbild des Neubaus dienten insbesondere die Qualitäten dieser besonderen Wasserlage.

KfW Creative Lab
WorkInstitutional
WorkInstitutional
ProjektartBüro, neue Arbeitswelten, Neubau
StatusDesign
OrtBerlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum2018

Für den KfW-Campus, ein Kreativlabor, das sich den zukünftigen Anforderungen der KfW-Bank widmet, schlug GRAFT eine zweigeschossige Aufstockung des bisherigen Standortes in der Nähe des Gendarmenmarktes im Zentrum Berlins vor. Dieses neue Kreativlabor ist als klar erkennbarer, zugänglicher Ort der Inspiration innerhalb des Stadtblocks konzipiert.

Ritterstrasse Cloud Space
WorkRetail
WorkRetail
ProjektartBüro, Einzelhandel, neue Arbeitswelten, Co-Working
StatusWettbewerbsbeitrag
OrtBerlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum2018
Größe8.000m²

Im Rahmen eines 2018 ausgeschriebenen Wettbewerbs für ein Bürogebäude in Berlin-Kreuzberg schlug GRAFT ein Konzept mit neuen Theorien für Arbeitswelten vor. Der Entwurf zeichnet sich durch einen flexiblen Gebäudeplan aus, der die Bedürfnisse der unterschiedlichen Büroformate des 21. Jahrhunderts erfüllt und verschiedene Zonen mit Schwerpunkt auf Effizienz und Funktionalität schafft.

 UNBUILDING WALLS – GERMAN PAVILLON 2018
CulturalExhibition / StageInstitutionalResearch
CulturalExhibition / StageInstitutionalResearch
ProjektartAusstellung
OrtVenedig, Italien
Zeitraum2017–2018

VOM TODESSTREIFEN ZUM FREIEN RAUM 28 Jahre lang ist Deutschland vereint, exakt so lange, wie die Berliner Mauer (1961–1989) bestand. Zu dieser Zeitengleiche werden GRAFT und Marianne Birthler ab dem 26. Mai 2018 im Deutschen Pavillon auf der 16. Internationalen Architekturbiennale in Venedig die Ausstellung „Unbuilding Walls“ zeigen.

Showpalace Munich Apassionata Equila Land
Sports and RecreationCulturalExhibition / Stage
Sports and RecreationCulturalExhibition / Stage
ProjektartShowpalast für eine multimediale Pferdeshow
StatusGebaut
OrtMünchen, Deutschland
Zeitraum2016–2017
Größe5.000m² (BGF)

Der Showpalast bietet Platz für 1.700 Besucher, die die Familienunterhaltungsshow auf einer 40 Meter breiten Bühne verfolgen können. Hierdurch müssen nur wenige Sitzreihen hintereinander angeordnet werden – dies ermöglicht allen Gästen eine gute Sicht und geringen Abstand zum Geschehen auf der Bühne.

Urban Nation Museum
CulturalInstitutionalHistoric PreservationExhibition / Stage
CulturalInstitutionalHistoric PreservationExhibition / Stage
ProjektartMuseum, Ausstellungsraum, Umnutzung
StatusGebaut
OrtBerlin
Zeitraum2017
Größe500m² Ausstellungsfläche

Mit dem URBAN NATION MUSEUM FOR URBAN CONTEMPORARY ART, kurz Urban Nation Museum, entstand das erste deutsche Urban Art Museum in Berlin-Schöneberg. GRAFT entwickelte das Konzept für den Umbau eines ehemaligen Wohnhauses an der Kreuzung Bülow- und Zietenstraße.

Newsletter