Birdhouse

Back
 GRAFT BIRDHOUSE
 GRAFT BIRDHOUSE
Product Design
Project type
Product design
Status
Completed
Location
worldwide
Time
2018
Client
Süddeutsche Zeitung

The Süddeutsche Zeitung Magazin invited GRAFT to take part in the Design Special in early autumn 2018 on the subject of wood. In addition to GRAFT, the magazine addressed the proposal to five other international architects and designers, among them Daniel Libeskind and Stefan Diez. The task was to design an extraordinary birdhouse.

 GRAFT BIRDHOUSE

The idea for the design of the birdhouse was already born in 2007, when GRAFT won the competition for the realization of a pilot project for energy-efficient building with a zero-energy house on BIRDS ISLAND in Kuala Lumpur. This design is the basis for the “GRAFT birdhouse“, which now gives a home to a bird family.

The small birdhouse is a reference to the original design, which arranges conventional rooms under a parametrically deformed lamella shell and regulates air conditioning in an energy-efficient way. The organic design of the outer shell dissolves the wall and thus creates a new simplified structure for the birdhouse, but also retains its function and figure in this smaller format.

The birdhouse consists of 36 pieces, carved from MDF boards and then glued together. A white paint gives the object a special shine and makes it weather resistant. The production time, including the preparation of the 3D model, took a total of five days.

Birdhouse

Zurück
 GRAFT BIRDHOUSE
 GRAFT BIRDHOUSE
Product Design
Projektart
Produktdesign
Status
Fertiggestellt
Zeitraum
2018
Auftraggeber
Süddeutsche Zeitung

Das Süddeutsche Zeitung Magazin lud GRAFT ein am Design Special im Frühherbst 2018 zum Thema Holz teilzunehmen. Die Einladung richtete sich neben GRAFT an fünf weitere internationale Architekten und Designer, darunter Daniel Libeskind und Stefan Diez. Die Aufgabe bestand darin, ein außergewöhnliches Vogelhaus zu entwerfen.

 GRAFT BIRDHOUSE

Die Idee für das Design des Vogelhäuschens entstand bereits im Jahr 2007, als GRAFT mit einem Null-Energiehaus auf BIRDS ISLAND in Kuala Lumpur den Realisierungswettbewerb für ein Pilotprojekt zu energieeffizientem Bauen gewann. Dieser Entwurf ist Vorbild für das „GRAFT birdhouse“, das nun einer Vogelfamilie ihr zukünftiges Zuhause bietet.

Das kleine Vogelhaus ist eine Anlehnung an das originale Design, das herkömmliche Räume unter einer parametrisch verformten Lamellen-Hülle anordnet und energieeffizient klimatisiert. Die organische Formgebung der Außenhülle, die eine Auflösung der Wand und somit ein neues Raumgefüge schafft, wurde für das Vogelhaus vereinfacht, erhält jedoch auch in diesem verkleinerten Format seine Funktion und Figur.

Mit Blick auf die drängende Herausforderung reagiert Heimat2 mit schnellen und zeitnahen Lösungen für die Unterbringung in modularen Bausystemen - mit bestmöglichen Bedingungen für die Bewohner und Anwohner.