Desert Canyon Resort

Back
Desert Canyon
Desert Canyon
Urban PlanningHospitalityHighriseSports and Recreation
Project type
Urban development, mixed use
Status
Design
Location
Dubai, U.A.E.
Time
2008
Size
434,332m²
Client
Private client
In collaboration with
Brad Pitt

Conceived as a singular object, this project challenges the traditional city scale in a desert master development zoned for vehicles. While the density of program was a driving factor for this approach, it was primarily driven by the desire to create a large-scale interior world, detached from the surrounding developments.

Desert Canyon Resort

As the potential new venue for the Dubai film festival, entertainment sits at the heart of the project. The lively mix of theater, cinemas, restaurants and bars have been organized into an urban canyon that brings people from the street, down into a shaded entertainment district, culminating in an enclosed oasis, completely removed from the context of surrounding developments. This canyon space is filled with opportunities to see and be seen and is configured to also function as a single huge venue with a meandering red carpet processional route.

To signify the development as you enter the city quarter, the sculptural hotel tower, reminiscent of an Oscar statue, was sited directly in view from the main highway. The design of the hotel tower aimed to create a sense of public destination at various levels when viewed from the ground. By inserting public program between the hotel rooms and the core, lobby spaces are creating at various heights, each designed with unique characteristics that correspond to different room types.

Desert Canyon Resort

The tower culminates in a 60 meter truss that launches off the side of the tower into a suspended sky bar. The loop appears as a hole in the tower at the point at which you enter the building at ground level.

Rose Square
Rose Square
Desert Canyon Resort
Founding partners
Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit
Project team

Alex Jackson, Alexandra Kubos-Nowak, Anja Frenkel, Annabel Cremer, Assaf Ruder, Carsten Dankert, Carsten Gauert, Constanze Stark, Gunnar Krempin, Julia Borchers, Justyna Mintus, Max Schwitalla, Michael Cornelsen, Nikolas Krause, Oliver André Claußen, Sebastian Nastke, Sebastian Scherer, Stefan Neudecker, Stefanie Götz, Steffen Ell, Stephen Molloy, Steven Beites, Sven Fuchs, Sylvain Rocher, Thorsten Moschüring, Tobias Krauth, Victoria Menor-Torres, Yuna Yagi

Desert Canyon Resort

Zurück
Desert Canyon
Desert Canyon
Urban PlanningHospitalityHighriseSports and Recreation
Projektart
Stadtplanung, Mischnutzung
Status
Design
Ort
Dubai, V.A.E.
Zeitraum
2008
Größe
434.332m²
In Zusammenarbeit mit
Brad Pitt

Als singuläres Objekt konzipiert, fordert das Projekt Desert Canyon Resort den traditionellen, auf Fahrzeuge ausgelegten Stadtmaßstab in einer Wüsten-Mastersiedlung heraus. Während die Dichte des Programms ein treibender Faktor war, wurde in erster Linie eine groß angelegte Innenwelt geschaffen, die von der umgebenden Bebauung losgelöst ist.

Desert Canyon Resort

Als potenzieller neuer Veranstaltungsort für das Filmfestival in Dubai steht die Unterhaltung im Mittelpunkt des Projekts. Die lebendige Mischung aus Theater, Kinos, Restaurants und Bars wurde in einem urbanen Canyon organisiert, der die Menschen von der Straße hinunter in ein schattiges Vergnügungsviertel führt und in einer geschlossenen Oase gipfelt, die völlig aus dem Kontext der umliegenden Bebauung herausgelöst ist. Dieser Canyon ist so konfiguriert, dass er auch als ein einziger großer Veranstaltungsort mit einer sich schlängelnden Prozessionsroute mit rotem Teppich funktioniert.

Um die Entwicklung beim Betreten des Stadtviertels zu signalisieren, wurde der skulpturale Hotelturm, der an eine Preisstatue erinnert, direkt im Blickfeld der Hauptverkehrsstraße platziert. Der Entwurf des Hotelturms zielte darauf ab, vom Boden aus betrachtet auf verschiedenen Ebenen ein Gefühl von öffentlichem Raum zu schaffen. Durch die Einfügung eines öffentlichen Programms zwischen den Hotelzimmern und dem Kern entstehen Lobby-Räume auf verschiedenen Höhen, die jeweils mit einzigartigen Merkmalen gestaltet sind, welche wiederum den verschiedenen Zimmertypen entsprechen.

Desert Canyon Resort

Der Turm vollendt sich in einer 60 Meter langen Trägerkonstruktion, die in eine schwebende Skybar mündet. Die Schleife erscheint als Loch im Turm, wenn man das Gebäude ebenerdig betritt

Rose Square
Rose Square
Desert Canyon Resort
Gründungspartner
Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit
Projektteam

Alex Jackson, Alexandra Kubos-Nowak, Anja Frenkel, Annabel Cremer, Assaf Ruder, Carsten Dankert, Carsten Gauert, Constanze Stark, Gunnar Krempin, Julia Borchers, Justyna Mintus, Max Schwitalla, Michael Cornelsen, Nikolas Krause, Oliver André Claußen, Sebastian Nastke, Sebastian Scherer, Stefan Neudecker, Stefanie Götz, Steffen Ell, Stephen Molloy, Steven Beites, Sven Fuchs, Sylvain Rocher, Thorsten Moschüring, Tobias Krauth, Victoria Menor-Torres, Yuna Yagi