Hotel Iveria

Back
Hotel Iveria
Hotel Iveria
Hotel Iveria
Hotel Iveria
Hotel Iveria
HospitalityHighrise
Project type
Hotel, casino, high-rise
Status
Built
Location
Tbilisi, Georgia
Time
2008
Size
34,200m²
Client
Development Solutions
Photographers
Awards

Development Awards (CATHIC Awards), Best New Hotel Cathic Regions, Winner, 2011

The hotel and casino is a conversion of an existing 20-story high-rise building from the 1960s as a mixed-use facility with 34,170m² of gross floor area on a land parcel of 10,840m².

The Hotel Iveria accommodates 249 rooms, including 44 business classrooms, 15 suites, and one executive suite, as well as an Italian restaurant called Filini, the Surface Restaurant and Lounge Bar, a conference center with 10 fully-equipped meeting rooms, and a sub-dividable ballroom with a maximum capacity of 450 persons. A bank office and travel agency complete the program of spaces.

Hotel Iveria

The project’s goal is to transform an urban landmark building of the so-called international style by anchoring it in the local environment of the city center and reconnecting it to the world of today. In many former communist countries, architectural icons from “socialist” times are being transformed and countries are seeking to express their own identity with a renewed sense of confidence.

The project is a bold, optimistic statement demonstrating Georgia’s and Tbilisi’s position as a modern city while respecting the history of Georgia, including its more recent past – a project that embodies the principles of GRAFT.

Hotel Iveria

The design respects the basic form and placement of the typical modernist high-rise while introducing strong interventions that heighten its qualities: the ground and first floors have been gutted and given a new base that relates the lobby and restaurant to its surroundings, while the top two floors have been transformed into spa and wellness facilities with a spectacular view over the city and to the Caucasus Mountains beyond.

Hotel Iveria
Hotel Iveria
Hotel Iveria

The exterior has been re-clad with a sleek skin of rhythmic curtain-wall glazing, while the interiors refer to local traditions such as the wooden balconies of Tbilisi (hotel rooms), the local sulphur bathing culture (spa) or the wood relief-work, carpeting and niches in the restaurants and bars. Transformed, abstracted images of grapes are used as a decorative device throughout the project.

Hotel Iveria
Hotel Iveria
Hotel Iveria

Georgia as a country at the intersection of cultures and trade routes is rediscovering its role as an international hub and a place for exchange between the East and West. The prominent project was an opportunity to help reclaim past traditions and participate in their transformation and definition, linking the global with the local in a two-way process.

Founding Partners
Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit
Project team

Annette Finke, Michael Brown, Jana Deters-Gonseth, Nathalie Dziobek-Bepler, Sascha Krückeberg, Jens Hecht, Dennes Janßen, Severin Küppers, Markozashvili Kaha, Sebastian Nastke, Martin Neander, Pantazis Evangelos, Pamela Schriever, Tobias Hein, Thomas Zeissig

Hotel Iveria

Zurück
Hotel Iveria
Hotel Iveria
Hotel Iveria
Hotel Iveria
Hotel Iveria
HospitalityHighrise
Projektart
Hotel, Casino, Hochhaus
Status
Gebaut
Ort
Tiflis, Georgien
Zeitraum
2008
Größe
34.200m²
Auftraggeber
Development Solutions
Fotografen
Auszeichnungen

Development Awards (CATHIC Awards), Best New Hotel Cathic Regions, Winner, 2011

Das Hotel Iveria ist der Umbau eines 20-stöckigen Bestandsgebäudes aus den 1960er Jahren in ein Mischnutzungskonzept mit 34.170m² BGF auf einem 10.840m² großen Grundstück.

Das Hotel beherbergt 249 Zimmer, darunter 44 Business Class Zimmer, 15 Suiten und eine Executive Suite, sowie das italienische Restaurant Filini, das Surface Restaurant mit Lounge Bar, ein Konferenzzentrum mit 10 vollausgestatteten Meetingräumen und einen räumlich abtrennbaren Veranstaltungsraum für maximal 450 Personen. Ein Bank- und ein Reisebüro vervollständigen das Raumprogramm.

Hotel Iveria

Ziel des Projektes war es, das urbane Wahrzeichen in der lokalen Umgebung des Stadtzentrums und der heutigen Zeit zu verankern. Viele ehemals kommunistischen Länder verfügen über architektonische Ikonen aus sozialistischen Zeiten, die heute neuen Nutzungen überführt werden und dadurch Ausdruck eines neuen Selbstbewusstseins und einer neuen Identität werden.

Das Projekt ist ein starkes und optimistisches Statement, das die Position von Tiflis als moderne Stadt unterstreicht, gleichzeitig aber die jüngste Geschichte Georgien nicht außer Acht lässt.

Hotel Iveria

Der Entwurf respektiert die formalen Grundsätze des typisch modernistischen Hochhauses. Er ergänzt diese um starke Interventionen, die seine Qualitäten unterstreichen: das Erdgeschoss sowie das erste Obergeschoss wurden entkernt und so verbunden, dass Lobby und Restaurant sich zu ihrer Umgebung hin öffnen. Die beiden obersten Geschosse wurden in Spa- und Wellnessbereiche transformiert, die spektakuläre Ausblicke über die Stadt und in das Kaukasusgebirge ermöglichen.

Hotel Iveria
Hotel Iveria
Hotel Iveria

Die Fassade wurde mit einer Vorhangfassade neu verkleidet . Im Inneren beziehen sich die Materialien hingegen stark auf lokale Traditionen, wie die Holzbalkone der Altbauhäuser von Tiflis, die sich in abgewandelter Form in den Hotelzimmern wiederfinden. Ebenso die Anwendung typischer Schwefelbäder im Spa-Bereich oder Holzrelief-Arbeiten in Restaurants und Bars referenzieren georgische Traditionen.

Hotel Iveria
Hotel Iveria
Hotel Iveria

Georgien ist ein Land an der Schnittstelle verschiedener Kulturen und Handelsrouten, das seine Rolle als internationaler Hub zwischen Ost und West wiederentdeckt. Das Hotel Iveria, im Zentrum der Hauptstadt Tiflis, entdeckt alte lokale Traditionen wieder, und transformiert sie in die Zukunft.

Founding partners
Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit
Project team

Annette Finke, Michael Brown, Jana Deters-Gonseth, Nathalie Dziobek-Bepler, Sascha Krückeberg, Jens Hecht, Dennes Janßen, Severin Küppers, Markozashvili Kaha, Sebastian Nastke, Martin Neander, Pantazis Evangelos, Pamela Schriever, Tobias Hein, Thomas Zeissig