KIEL WERFTBAHNSTRASSE

Back
KIEL WERFTBAHNSTRASSE
Hospitality
Project type
Mixed-Use
Status
Design
Location
Kiel, Germany
Time
2018
Competition

Penda Studio I www.precht.at

In the Werftbahnstraße, at the southernmost tip of the Kiel Fjord in the district of Gaarden, a new urban quarter is to be created that will sustainably strengthen Kiel as a business location, especially the creative industries. Two design tasks were set for this: The task was to plan a neighborhood development for hotel, apartments, offices and commerce with green and recreational areas, accompanied by a high-rise building up to 64 meters high with a lively first floor zone, which will be a "landmark" that links to the surrounding area and the new neighborhood.

kiel werftbahnstrasse

The entire competition area on Werftbahnstraße with the W8 creative center located there is characterized by small-scale development. GRAFT's design here envisages an unusual and novel fusion of future urban density at the so-called Kap Horn Tower.

An office and commercial block protecting the east is to shield the hotel and its terraces to the north and the apartments located to the south, as well as the public space connecting them, from Werftbahnstrasse. The plan envisages three construction phases. Thus, the design initially focuses on the commercial structure and the hotel complex in order to preserve W8 for the time being and gradually convert it to a new mixed-use development with residential units at a later stage. The apartments in three separate, raised structures, together with the landmark Kap Horn Tower, ultimately form a family of four proportionally related structures, from which the high-rise stands out as a solitaire, but still blends in.

The Kiel Fjord becomes the model for a public space that extends from the adjacent green areas to the south as a topographical landscape through the entire competition area and incorporates the open foyer and meeting spaces of the hotel and the innovative office areas.

kiel

Synergies between address formation and the building structure of the hotel and office areas form the starting point for the building concept. The lobby and foyer areas and the gastronomy on the lower floors share generous outdoor areas with views oriented towards the city and the fjord. From here, there are transition possibilities from the co-working zones into the hotel as well as into its conference areas and, last but not least, the Roof Top Bar. The aim here is to achieve numerous synergy effects of short-term office tenants with hotel bookings, conference room use by commercial tenants, joint use of the gastronomic offerings, as well as the overriding idea of a livable "landscape" of living and working, hospitality and meeting, which finds its starting point in the surrounding urban space.

Project Partners
Georg Schmidthals, Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit
Project Team
Ahmed Rihan, Benjamin Goern, Christopher Nielsen, Daniel Finck, Klemens Sitzmann, Marina Jostina, Marvin Bratke, Raluca Ana Maria Constantin, Veronika Partelova

KIEL WERFTBAHNSTRASSE

Zurück
kiel werftbahnstrasse
Mixed Use
Status
Design
Ort
Kiel, Deutschland
Zeitraum
2018
Wettbewerb
Mehrfachbeauftragung

In der Werftbahnstraße, am südlichsten Ausläufer der Kieler Förde im Stadtteil Gaarden, soll ein neues Stadtquartier entstehen, das den Wirtschaftsstandort Kiel und insbesondere die Kreativwirtschaft, nachhaltig stärkt. Hierfür wurden zwei Entwurfsaufgaben gestellt: Es galt, eine Quartiersentwicklung für Hotel, Wohnungen, Büro und Gewerbe mit Grün- und Erholungsflächen zu planen, die von einem bis zu 64 Metern hohem Hochhaus mit lebendiger Erdgeschosszone flankiert werden, welches sich als „Landmark“ mit der Umgebung und dem neuen Quartier verknüpft.

KIEL WERFTBAHNSTRASSE

Das gesamte Wettbewerbsgebiet an der Werftbahnstraße mit dem dort ansässigen Kreativzentrum W8 ist von Kleinteiligkeit geprägt. Der Entwurf von GRAFT sieht hier eine außergewöhnliche und neuartige Verschmelzung zukünftiger urbaner Dichte am sogenannten Kap Horn Tower vor.

Ein nach Osten hin schützender Büro- und Gewerberiegel soll das nördlich gelegene Hotel und seine Terrassen und die im Süden angesiedelten Wohnungen sowie den diese verbindenden öffentlichen Raum von der Werftbahnstraße abschirmen. Die Planung sieht dabei drei Bauabschnitte vor. So konzentriert sich der Entwurf zunächst auf die Gewerbestruktur und den Hotelkomplex, um das W8 vorerst zu erhalten und zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt schrittweise in eine neue Mischnutzung mit Wohneinheiten zu überführen. Die Wohnungen in drei separaten, angehobenen Baukörpern bilden schließlich zusammen mit der Landmarke des Kap Horn Tower eine Familie aus vier proportional miteinander verwandten Baukörpern, aus dem das Hochhaus zwar als Solitär herausragt, sich aber dennoch einfügt.

Die Kieler Förde wird zum Leitbild für einen öffentlichen Raum, der sich von den südlich angrenzenden Grünbereichen als topografische Landschaft durch das gesamte Wettbewerbsgebiet zieht und die offenen Foyer- und Begegnungsräume des Hotels und der innovativen Bürobereiche mit aufnimmt.

kiel werftbahnstrasse

Synergien zwischen Adressbildung und baulicher Struktur von Hotel und Bürobereichen bilden den Ausgangspunkt für das Gebäude­konzept. Die Lobby- und Foyerbereiche und die Gastronomie in den unteren Geschossen teilen sich großzügige Außenbereiche mit Blicken, die sich zu Stadt und Förde hin orientieren. Von hier aus gibt es Übergangsmöglichkeiten aus den Co-Working Zonen in das Hotel sowie in dessen Konferenzbereiche und nicht zuletzt die Roof Top Bar. Ziel dabei sind zahlreiche Synergieeffekte von Kurzzeit-Mietern der Büros mit Hotelbuchungen, Konferenzraumnutzungen durch Gewerbemieter, gemeinsamer Nutzung der gastronomischen Angebote, sowie die übergeordnete Idee einer lebenswerten „Landschaft“ aus Wohnen und Arbeiten, Gastlichkeit und Begegnung, die im umgebenden Stadtraum ihren Ausgangspunkt findet.

Projektpartner
Georg Schmidthals, Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit
Projektteam
Ahmed Rihan, Benjamin Goern, Christopher Nielsen, Daniel Finck, Klemens Sitzmann, Marina Jostina, Marvin Bratke, Raluca Ana Maria Constantin, Veronika Partelova