Platoon Seoul

Back
Platoon Seoul
Platoon Seoul
Platoon Seoul
Platoon Seoul
CulturalModular ArchitectureExhibition / StageWork
Project type
Exhibitions, Bar & Restaurant, Event Hall, Artist Studios, Library Lounge, Office Studios, Workshop Room, Roof Top Bar
Status
Built
Location
Seoul, South Korea
Time
2009
Size
415m²
Client
PLATOON.ORG
Photos
PLATOON.ORG
Interior + Furniture Design
PLATOON and Baik Jiwon
Awards
Design Prize of the Federal Republic of Germany 2011, RedDot Award 2010, Korean Architecture Prize in 2009

PLATOON KUNSTHALLE opened its doors on 11th April 2009. It is set up in Seoul as a space for subculture in Asia. Its programmatic orientation towards cultural movements beneath the radar creates a dynamic space where new ideas are born and presented.

PLATOON KUNSTHALLE is not about entertainment. The program provides a communication platform for anybody interested in subcultural creative fields like street art, graphic design, fashion, video art, programming, music, club culture, political activism etc.

Platoon Kunsthalle Seoul

PLATOON KUNSTHALLE Seoul is built of 28 iso cargo containers. As icons of a flexible architecture in a globalized culture, the stacked containers form a unique construction that can be rebuilt anywhere else any time.

As PLATOON KUNSTHALLE is located in the upscale Cheongdam area the confrontation of subculture with the close-by design houses, commercial galleries and luxury brand stores creates a tension and interaction between the two worlds.

Platoon Kunsthalle Seoul
Platoon Kunsthalle Seoul

PLATOON KUNSTHALLE provides showcases of underground artists, studio residencies and a fine selection of cutting-edge stage performances to introduce the energetic potential of subculture in Korea and Asia.

Platoon Kunsthalle Seoul

Subculture at PLATOON KUNSTHALLE is presented in different formats like exhibitions, movie nights, concerts and multimedia performances, workshops, discussion panels and special events. The four scholarship programs give young upcoming artists from Korea and abroad the opportunity to develop creative projects at the PLATOON KUNSTHALLE. The four showcases present every month striking works from the subculture and streetart field including leading artists of the international urban art scene.

GRAFT assisted Platoon in the architectural development of the Kunsthalle, which is based on the signature container modules as developed by Platoon for their first container setup in Berlin. The optimized arrangement of the containers in Seoul was developed in brainstorming sessions between Platoon and Graft and developed and illustrated by GRAFT.

Platoon Seoul

Zurück
Platoon Seoul
Platoon Seoul
Platoon Seoul
Platoon Seoul
CulturalModular ArchitectureExhibition / StageWork
Projektart
Ausstellung, Studio, Bar & Restautant, Eventflächen, Werkstätten
Status
Gebaut
Ort
Seoul, Südkorea
Zeitraum
2009
Größe
415m²
Auftraggeber
PLATOON.ORG
Fotos
PLATOON.ORG
Interior + Möbel Design
PLATOON and Baik Jiwon
Awards
Designpreis der Bundesrepublik Deutschland 2011, RedDot Award 2010, Korean Architecture Prize in 2009

Die PLATOON KUNSTHALLE Seoul öffnete am 11. April 2009 ihre Türen als Ort für Subkultur in Asien. Die programmatische Ausrichtung auf kulturelle Bewegungen unterhalb des Radars schafft einen dynamischen Raum, in dem neue Ideen geboren und präsentiert werden.

Bei PLATOON KUNSTHALLE geht es nicht um Unterhaltung. Das Programm bietet eine Kommunikationsplattform für alle, die sich für subkulturelle Kreativbereiche wie Street Art, Grafikdesign, Mode, Videokunst, Programmierung, Musik, Clubkultur, politischen Aktivismus etc. interessieren.

Platoon Kunsthalle Seoul

Die PLATOON KUNSTHALLE Seoul ist aus 28 Frachtcontainern gebaut. Als Ikonen einer flexiblen Architektur in einer globalisierten Kultur bilden die gestapelten Container eine einzigartige Konstruktion, die jederzeit an einem anderen Ort wieder aufgebaut werden kann.

Da sich die PLATOON KUNSTHALLE im gehobenen Stadtteil Cheongdam befindet, entsteht durch die Konfrontation der Subkultur mit den nahe gelegenen Designhäusern, kommerziellen Galerien und Luxusmarkengeschäften eine Spannung und Interaktion zwischen den beiden Welten.

Platoon Kunsthalle Seoul
Platoon Kunsthalle Seoul

Die PLATOON KUNSTHALLE bietet Showcases von Underground-Künstlern, Studio-Residenzen und eine feine Auswahl an innovativen Bühnen-Performances, um das energetische Potential der Subkultur in Korea und Asien zu präsentieren.

Platoon Kunsthalle Seoul

Subkultur wird in der PLATOON KUNSTHALLE in verschiedenen Formaten wie Ausstellungen, Filmabenden, Konzerten und Multimedia-Performances, Workshops, Diskussionsrunden und Sonderveranstaltungen präsentiert. Vier Stipendienprogramme geben jungen Nachwuchskünstlern aus Korea und dem Ausland die Möglichkeit, kreative Projekte in der PLATOON KUNSTHALLE zu entwickeln. Die vier Showcases präsentieren jeden Monat eindrucksvolle Arbeiten aus dem Bereich der Subkultur und Streetart, darunter auch führende KünstlerInnen der internationalen Urban Art Szene.

GRAFT unterstützte Platoon bei der architektonischen Entwicklung der Kunsthalle, die auf den charakteristischen Containermodulen basiert, wie sie von Platoon für ihr erstes Container-Setup in Berlin entwickelt wurden. Die optimierte Anordnung der Container in Seoul wurde in Brainstorming-Sessions zwischen Platoon und GRAFT entwickelt und illustriert.