Urban Nation Museum

Back
Urban Nation Museum
Urban Nation Museum
Urban Nation Museum
CulturalInstitutionalHistoric PreservationExhibition / Stage
Project type
Museum, exhibition space, refurbishment
Status
Built
Location
Berlin
Time
2017
Size
500m² exhibition space
Client
Stiftung Berliner Leben
Photographers

Aurelio Schrey, Nika Kramer, Tobias Hein

Award
International Interior Design Award 2020

The Urban Nation Museum for Urban Contemporary Art—or Urban Nation Museum for short—is the first museum for urban art in Germany and is housed in a former residential building in the Schöneberg district of Berlin.

Urban Nation Museum Berlin

GRAFT’s concept for the conversion of the building at the intersection of Bülowstrasse and Zietenstrasse envisaged turning the building itself into a work of art. This was achieved by constructing the facade from modular sections that serve as canvases for artists from around the world. These modular facade elements are frequently redesigned, replaced and subsequently added to the museum’s collection as works of art.

Urban Nation Museum
Urban Nation Museum

Entering the building reveals a radical and unexpected space: rooms branch off along different axes, over two or even three floors, creating a sense of height and depth. The anamorphic techniques of urban art permeate the realm of architecture, allowing them to enter new symbioses with each other.

Urban Nation

Urban Nation
Urban Nation Museum

The idea of the street finds continuation in the museum’s interior: the exhibition spaces are connected by an internal walkway—a High Line of sorts—making it possible to experience the different works of art up close and from afar.

The Museum also contains a library and twelve apartments for artists taking part in the Urban Nation artist residency program.

Urban Nation is an initiative of the Stiftung Berliner Leben, a foundation founded by the Gewobag housing association in 2013. Under the direction of Yasha Young, the museum has gained a reputation as a platform for urban art that attracts artists and visitors from around the world.

Urban Nation Museum

Founding Partners
Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit
Project Lead
Anna Wittwer, Denis Hegic, Stefanie Götz
Project Team
Christine Huber, Felix Götze, Kudzai Magoche, Lidia Beltran Carlos, Louis Lefebvre, Mats Koppe, Primoz Strazar, Sebastian Gernhardt, Thomas Quisinsky

Urban Nation Museum

Zurück
Urban Nation Museum
Urban Nation Museum
Urban Nation Museum
CulturalInstitutionalHistoric PreservationExhibition / Stage
Projektart
Museum, Ausstellungsraum, Umnutzung
Status
Gebaut
Ort
Berlin
Zeitraum
2017
Größe
500m² Ausstellungsfläche
Auftraggeber
Stiftung Berliner Leben
Fotografen

Aurelio Schrey, Nika Kramer, Tobias Hein

Auszeichnungen
International Interior Design Award 2020

Mit dem Urban Nation Museum for Urban Contemporary Art, kurz Urban Nation Museum, entstand das erste deutsche Urban Art Museum in Berlin-Schöneberg. GRAFT entwickelte das Konzept für den Umbau eines ehemaligen Wohnhauses an der Kreuzung Bülow- und Zietenstraße.

Urban Nation Museum Berlin

Hierbei wird das Haus durch eine modulare Wechselfassade selbst zum Kunstwerk. Sie dient Künstlern aus der ganzen Welt als Leinwand und wird in regelmäßigen Abständen neu gestaltet. Die Fassadenelemente können anschließend als Ausstellungsstück in die Sammlung des Museums aufgenommen werden.

Urban Nation Museum
Urban Nation Museum

Das Museumsinnere offenbart eine radikale und unerwartete Raumwahrnehmung: Enfiladen von Räumen, die sich in ihrer Höhe teilweise über zwei und drei Geschosse entwickeln, erzeugen Weite und Größe. Die anamorphen Techniken der Urban Art finden hier Eingang in das architektonische Konzept und ermöglichen so der Kunst weiterhin neue Symbiosen mit der Architektur einzugehen.

Urban Nation

Urban Nation
Urban Nation Museum

Die Straße wird in den Innenraum des Museums erweitert. Eine Trasse, wie eine Art High Line, verbindet alle Ausstellungsräume miteinander und ermöglicht die Gleichzeitigkeit des Erlebens der Kunstwerke aus der Ferne und von ganz nah.

Das Urban Nation Museum enthält weiterhin eine Bibliothek und zwölf Wohnungen für das Residence Program für die Urban Nation Artists enthalten.

URBAN NATION ist eine Initiative der Stiftung „Berliner Leben“, die 2013 von der Berliner Wohnungsbaugesellschaft Gewobag gegründet wurde. Durch das Museum entsteht unter der Leitung der Museumsdirektorin Yasha Young eine Plattform für urbane Kunst von internationaler Strahlkraft. Die Kunstform der Urban Art findet somit ein Sprachrohr und wird gleichzeitig für Besucher und Bewohner des Quartiers zugänglich gemacht.

Urban Nation Museum

Gründungspartner
Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit
Projektleitung
Anna Wittwer, Denis Hegic, Stefanie Götz
Projektteam
Christine Huber, Felix Götze, Kudzai Magoche, Lidia Beltran Carlos, Louis Lefebvre, Mats Koppe, Primoz Strazar, Sebastian Gernhardt, Thomas Quisinsky