Gingko Bacchus Restaurant

Back
Gingko Bacchus Restaurant
Gingko Bacchus Restaurant
Gingko Bacchus Restaurant
Gingko Bacchus Restaurant
Gingko Bacchus Restaurant
Hospitality
Project type
Restaurant
Status
Built
Location
Chengdu, China
Time
2008
Size
1,200m²
Client
GINGKO Restaurant Management Corporation
Photographers
Golf Tattler, Lai Xuzhu
Awards

2012 Heinze ArchitektenAward, second prize

2009 AIA Restaurant Design Award

2009 Illumination Awards, Award of Merit

Located in Chengdu, the capital of Sichuan Province in China, the GINGKO BACCHUS Restaurant is a surrealistic blend (a “graft”) of western and Chinese restaurant and food culture.

The starting point for the design is a blacked-out space. The public spaces are considered a river or a stream along which one “floats” through the depth of the 1200 m² black space. The stream begins at the elevators, the public entrance to the restaurant on the fourth floor of the Gingko Restaurant Building. The wavy wood-ribbon ceiling and stainless steel intarsia of the floor pattern evoke a sense of flow along the “stream” which leads to an open dining and show cooking area. 8 private dining rooms are located like boulders along the stream, each color coded and themed by food and famous Bacchus depictions.

Gingko Bacchus Restaurant

Food is used in various layers of abstraction throughout the restaurant. Each private dining room has its own custom wallpaper of simple food produce – carrots, mushrooms, walnuts, broccoli, beans, chilies, or artichokes – made of mirrored and repeated high-resolution images of these vegetables. The color of each room echoes that of its designated vegetable, and together the 8 rooms transition gently from green to red.

The walls of the stream feature wall-height photographic reinterpretations of traditional Dutch still-life paintings. These images are placed behind one way mirrors equipped with time-controlled back-lighting that makes it possible to highlight or fade out certain aspects of the images. The entire hallway changes in slow motion, the light fading gradually causing the image to disappear and the beholder to appear reflected in the mirror. Like Alice in Wonderland, one finds oneself immersed in a surrealist landscape of giant-sized food. The still life paintings of the Dutch masters make reference to luxury, vanity and cupidity, adding a second layer of meaning through the glorification of the vegetables.

Gingko Bacchus
Gingko Bacchus Restaurant
Gingko Bacchus Restaurant

Bacchus (or Dionysus) from antique mythology elevates food to the realm of cult. As the god of wine, earthly delights and their enjoyment, he watches over the guests as they dine exquisite food and wine in the restaurant. Each of the nine rooms features a famous painting of Bacchus – for example, Caravaggio’s depiction of Bacchus as a young “Boy with a Fruit Basket”, or the “Triumph of Bacchus” by Velázquez. – but in an abstracted, pixelated representation laser-cut out of sheet stainless steel. The illuminated background of the vegetable wallpapers and Arcadian landscapes can be seen through the laser-cut pixels of the historical Bacchus paintings.

Gingko Bacchus Restaurant
Gingko Bacchus Restaurant

The ceiling of the dining rooms reverses the play of foreground and background: here images of Nymphs – the playmates of Bacchus – can be glimpsed from certain angles through pixelated and laser-cut images of grapes.

Gingko Bacchus Restaurant
Gingko Bacchus Restaurant

Dark-tinted mirrors and reflective surfaces are used throughout the restaurant to create surrealistic extensions of space, blurring the guest’s orientation. Overhead mirrors make the public dining room appear double the height. TV screens concealed above the one-way mirrors create the impression of frameless images floating between spaces. At various different points, illumination is used to create illusions of space, luring the beholder towards objects that are actually behind surfaces. Illusion and reflection are ever-present aspects of the restaurant design.

Gingko Bacchus Restaurant

But the highlight of the restaurant is the food itself: an intriguing fusion of international cuisine with Chinese influences, enhanced by the famous flavors of the Ginkgo Restaurant Group. GRAFT’s work also included the entire graphic design of the restaurant, from the wallpapers to the menus.

Gingko Bacchus Restaurant

Zurück
Gingko Bacchus Restaurant
Gingko Bacchus Restaurant
Gingko Bacchus Restaurant
Gingko Bacchus Restaurant
Hospitality
Projektart
Restaurant, Innenarchitektur
Status
Gebaut
Ort
Chengdu, China
Zeitraum
2008
Größe
1.200m²
Auftraggeber
GINGKO Restaurant Management Corporation
Fotografen
Golf Tattler, Lai Xuzhu
Auszeichnungen

2012 Heinze ArchitektenAward, second prize

2009 AIA Restaurant Design Award

2009 Illumination Awards, Award of Merit

Das GINGKO BACCHUS Restaurant in Chengdu, der Hauptstadt der Provinz Sichuan in China, ist eine surrealistische Mischung (ein "grafting") aus westlicher und chinesischer Restaurant- und Esskultur.

Der Ausgangspunkt für den Entwurf ist ein geschwärzter Raum. Die öffentlichen Räume werden als ein Strom betrachtet, entlang dessen man durch die Tiefe des 1.200 m² großen schwarzen Raums "schwimmt". Der Strom beginnt an den Aufzügen, dem öffentlichen Eingang zum Restaurant im vierten Stock des Gingko Restaurant Building. Die gewellte Holzbalkendecke und die Edelstahlintarsien des Bodenmusters evozieren ein Gefühl des Fließens entlang des "Stroms", der zu einem offenen Speise- und Showkochbereich führt. Acht private Speiseräume sind wie Felsbrocken entlang des Baches angeordnet, jeder farblich gekennzeichnet und thematisch nach Speisen und berühmten Bacchus-Darstellungen gestaltet.

Gingko Bacchus Restaurant

Lebensmittel werden im gesamten Restaurant in verschiedenen Arten der Abstraktion verwendet. Jeder private Speisesaal hat seine eigene individuelle Tapete aus einfachen Lebensmitteln - Karotten, Pilze, Walnüsse, Brokkoli, Bohnen, Chilis oder Artischocken - die aus gespiegelten und wiederholten hochauflösenden Bildern dieser Zutaten besteht. Die Farbe jedes Raumes spiegelt die Farbe des jeweiligen Lebensmittels wider, und zusammen gehen die acht Räume sanft von Grün zu Rot über.

An den Wänden sind großformatige fotografische Neuinterpretationen traditioneller holländischer Stillleben-Gemälde zu sehen. Diese Bilder befinden sich hinter Einwegspiegeln, die mit einer zeitgesteuerten Hintergrundbeleuchtung ausgestattet sind, die es ermöglicht, bestimmte Aspekte der Bilder hervorzuheben oder auszublenden. Der gesamte Gang verändert sich in Zeitlupe, das Licht wird allmählich schwächer, das Bild verschwindet und der Betrachter erscheint im Spiegel. Wie Alice im Wunderland findet man sich in einer surrealistischen Landschaft aus überdimensionalen Bildern wieder. Die Stillleben der holländischen Meister verweisen auf Luxus, Eitelkeit und Habgier und fügen durch die Verherrlichung des Gemüses eine zweite Bedeutungsebene hinzu.

Gingko Bacchus
Gingko Bacchus Restaurant

Bacchus (oder Dionysos) aus der antiken Mythologie erhebt das Essen in den Bereich des Kults. Als Gott des Weines und der irdischen Genüsse wacht er über die Gäste, wenn sie im Restaurant exquisite Speisen und Weine zu sich nehmen. Jeder der neun Räume zeigt ein berühmtes Bacchus-Gemälde - zum Beispiel Caravaggios Darstellung des Bacchus als junger "Knabe mit dem Früchtekorb" oder den "Triumph des Bacchus" von Velázquez - jedoch in einer abstrahierten, verpixelten Darstellung, die aus Edelstahlblech gelasert wurde. Der beleuchtete Hintergrund der Gemüsetapeten und arkadischen Landschaften ist durch die lasergeschnittenen Pixel der historischen Bacchus-Gemälde zu sehen.

Gingko Bacchus Restaurant
Gingko Bacchus Restaurant

Die Decke der Speisesäle kehrt das Spiel von Vorder- und Hintergrund um: Hier sind Bilder von Nymphen - den Gespielinnen des Bacchus - aus bestimmten Blickwinkeln durch verpixelte und lasergeschnittene Bilder von Weintrauben zu erahnen.

Gingko Bacchus Restaurant
Gingko Bacchus Restaurant

Im gesamten Restaurant werden dunkel getönte Spiegel und reflektierende Oberflächen verwendet, um surrealistische Raumerweiterungen zu schaffen. Overhead-Spiegel lassen den öffentlichen Speisesaal doppelt so hoch erscheinen. Über den Einwegspiegeln verborgene TV-Bildschirme erwecken den Eindruck von rahmenlosen, zwischen den Räumen schwebenden Bildern. An verschiedenen Stellen wird durch Beleuchtung eine Raumillusion erzeugt, die den Betrachter zu Objekten lockt, die sich eigentlich hinter Flächen befinden. Illusion und Reflexion sind allgegenwärtige Aspekte des Restaurantdesigns.

Gingko Bacchus Restaurant

Das Herzstück des Restaurants ist jedoch das Essen selbst: eine faszinierende Mischung aus internationaler Küche mit chinesischen Einflüssen, verfeinert mit den berühmten Aromen der Ginkgo Restaurant Group. GRAFTs Arbeit umfasste auch das gesamte Grafikdesign des Restaurants, von den Tapeten bis zu den Speisekarten.