Hotel Lofer

Back
Hotel Lofer
Hotel Lofer
Hotel Lofer
Hotel Lofer
Hotel Lofer
Hospitality
Project type
Hotel, tourism and residential development
Status
Competition, First prize
Location
Lofer, Austria
Time
2014
Size
16,800m²
Client
Private client

The Hotel Lofer is the first “premium common good resort” of its kind and encompasses a hotel complex, café, villa, staff hotel and premium residence area, as well as a community-oriented enterprise.
The design of the complex in Lofer near Salzburg (Austria) was awarded first prize in an open competition in which the local population were invited to participate in the judging.

Hotel Lofer

Building in the Alps entails respecting the characteristic cultural landscape and deep-rooted sense of identity while introducing new impulses for its future. New architecture must achieve a balance between change and nostalgia, between innovation and being of its place.

GRAFT’s design preserves the historical façades while integrating cutting-edge architecture. The innovative new additions draw on the larch cladding of local vernacular timber buildings and apply it to a prismatic, sculptural form. Each of the buildings responds in different ways to the genius loci, the roof forms adjusting to fit into the surrounding context of the village.

Hotel Lofer
Hotel Lofer

Environmental sustainability was a central concern of the design: together with the international engineering firm Buro Happold, a complex was designed that meets the needs of a modern hotel without polluting soil, air or water. Energy and water consumption is minimized through a “lean-mean-green” strategy using a combination of modern, energy-efficient technology and renewable energy sources. In addition to harnessing natural resources such as rain, snow and sun, the façade and building meet stringent sustainability criteria.

Hotel Lofer
Hotel Lofer
Founding partners
Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit
Project team
Aleksandra Zajko, Alexandra Tobescu, Arne Wegner, Konstantin Buhr, Marc Antonio Friedhoff Calvo, Ruxandra Osiac, Thomas Quisinski

Hotel Lofer

Zurück
Hotel Lofer
Hotel Lofer
Hotel Lofer
Hotel Lofer
Hotel Lofer
Hotel Lofer
Hospitality
Projektart
Hotel, Tourismusentwicklung, Wohnungsbau
Status
Wettbewerb, 1. Preis
Ort
Lofer, Österreich
Zeitraum
2014
Größe
16.800m²
Auftraggeber
Privater Kunde

Das Hotel Lofer ist das erste "Premium-Common-Good-Resort" seiner Art und umfasst eine Hotelanlage, ein Café, eine Villa, ein Personalhotel und einen Premium-Residenzbereich sowie ein gemeinschaftsorientiertes Unternehmen.
Der Entwurf der Anlage in Lofer bei Salzburg (Österreich) wurde in einem offenen Wettbewerb, bei dem die lokale Bevölkerung zur Teilnahme an der Jurierung eingeladen war, mit dem ersten Preis ausgezeichnet.

Hotel Lofer

Bauen in den Alpen bedeutet, die charakteristische Kulturlandschaft und das tief verwurzelte Identitätsgefühl zu respektieren und gleichzeitig neue Impulse für ihre Zukunft zu setzen. Neue Architektur muss eine Balance zwischen Veränderung und Nostalgie, zwischen Innovation und Ortsgebundenheit schaffen.

Der Entwurf von GRAFT bewahrt die historischen Fassaden und integriert gleichzeitig modernste Architektur. Die innovativen Neubauten greifen die Lärchenholzverkleidung lokaler traditioneller Holzbauten auf und wenden sie auf eine prismatische, skulpturale Form an. Jedes der Gebäude reagiert auf unterschiedliche Weise auf den genius loci, die Dachformen passen sich dem umgebenden Kontext des Dorfes an.

Hotel Lofer
Hotel Lofer

Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit war ein zentrales Anliegen des Entwurfs: Gemeinsam mit dem internationalen Ingenieurbüro Buro Happold wurde ein Komplex entworfen, der die Bedürfnisse eines modernen Hotels erfüllt, ohne Boden, Luft oder Wasser zu belasten. Der Energie- und Wasserverbrauch wird durch eine "lean-mean-green"-Strategie mit einer Kombination aus moderner, energieeffizienter Technik und erneuerbaren Energiequellen minimiert. Neben der Nutzung natürlicher Ressourcen wie Regen, Schnee und Sonne erfüllen die Fassade und das Gebäude strenge Nachhaltigkeitskriterien.

Hotel Lofer
Hotel Lofer
Hotel Lofer
Gründungspartner
Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit
Projektteam
Aleksandra Zajko, Alexandra Tobescu, Arne Wegner, Konstantin Buhr, Marc Antonio Friedhoff Calvo, Ruxandra Osiac, Thomas Quisinski