Make it Right

Back
GRAFT Make it Right
GRAFT Make it Right
GRAFT Make it Right
GRAFT Make it Right
Architecture ActivismModular ArchitectureResidentialUrban Planning
Project type
Rebuilding the Lower Ninth Ward, master planning, single-family houses
Status
Ongoing
Location
New Orleans, USA
Time
2006–2008
Size
1,000 sqft (100m2) - 3,000 sqft (300m2) houses
Client
Make It Right Foundation
In collaboration with
Brad Pitt, William McDonough, Cherokee Foundation, Tom Darden II, Tom Darden III
Photographers

Stefan Beese, Ricky Ridecos, Virginia Miller, Kevin Scott

Award
National Design Award 2016, AIT Award 2012

Hurricane Katrina, which hit the Gulf Coast in 2005, was one of the deadliest hurricanes in the US, and the costliest disaster in the world so far. The entire district of the Lower 9th Ward in New Orleans lies below sea level and was completely destroyed and its population displaced. A year after the catastrophe, nothing had been done and residents could not return to rebuild their homes and neighborhoods. Brad Pitt visited the area while shooting a movie and decided something had to be done.

In 2007 GRAFT started the “Make It Right Foundation” together with Brad Pitt, Bill McDonough, and the Cherokee Foundation, to rebuild the Lower 9th Ward.

GRAFT Make it Right

In order to raise funds and create awareness, the foundation designed the Pink Project to officially launch the rebuilding efforts and prepare the first financing after Brad Pitt’s initial donation. Merging set design and architecture into a single powerful tool, 150 pink houses were erected on the empty land that 2 years after the floods still dominated the area.

Over time, as monetary donations came in, the pink placeholders were reassembled to resurrect the urban patterns of the community before the disaster. Over the course of many months, Pitt, GRAFT, and the other parties involved met with former homeowners and local community leaders.

GRAFT Make it Right
GRAFT Make it Right

GRAFT took on the role of an architectural curator on the board of MIR and invited a group of 21 architects to create a range of architectural solutions.

GRAFT Make it Right

Design contributions by Adjaye Associates, Billes Partners, Concordia LLC, Eskew+Dumez+Ripple, GRAFT, Brooks + Scarpa, MVRDV, Morphosis, Trahan Architects, Hitoshi Abe, Bild Design, BNIM, Waggonner and Ball, Gehry and Partners, KieranTimberlake, Shigeru Ban, Elemental, Constructs LLC, Ray Kappe, William McDonough + Partners and buildingstudio.

GRAFT Make it Right

GRAFT also contributed two designs for affordable, sustainable and safe houses based on popular dwelling typologies and the rich traditions of New Orleans. Sustainability strategies follow the Cradle-to-Cradle principle established by William McDonough and Michael Braungart.

GRAFT Make it Right
GRAFT Make it Right
GRAFT Make it Right
GRAFT Make it Right

This and other efforts contributed to reducing energy demand, lowering monthly utility costs from up to US$ 300 before Katrina to only US$ 25. Make It Right designed a catalog of houses with diverse styles but similar floor spaces and prices. The residents could then choose the house they wanted.

All architects volunteered their time and designs for the community to create a sustainable, climate-responsive and diverse neighborhood.

GRAFT Make it Right

To date, more than 100 homes have been built, all of which have earned LEED Platinum status, making it the largest community in the USA with this certificate. More than 350 people now live in Make It Right homes.

Expand the vision: Much has been learned from the process of rebuilding the Lower 9th Ward in New Orleans. Many new methods have been developed, networks created, and lives changed. Brad Pitt decided to take this knowledge and know-how and expand the vision. It is easier to raise funds after a natural disaster like Hurricane Katrina than it is for other, similarly devastating situations that have destroyed people’s homes and lives. Such events are less visually prominent on television and the Internet, but they still deserve the same attention and efforts to help. Consequently, three further projects have since been launched.

GRAFT Make it Right

The veterans are a socially troubled group in the United States. For many reasons a large percentage of them live in poverty and have no home. The MIR project in Newark used some of the basic principles from the Lower 9th Ward project and applied them to a more dense urban setting: a 56-unit multi-family building project for disabled veterans. The apartment complex is also LEED Platinum certified and includes sustainable features like solar panels and a rooftop garden with fresh vegetables. The first veterans were able to move in on Memorial Day 2012.
One year later another MIR project was completed in Kansas City. A former elementary school was transformed into a complex providing affordable housing for 150 residents: a new community comprising a mix of young people transitioning from foster care, veterans, and low-income families. In addition to the remodeled school, new townhouses were also added. This project is also LEED Platinum certified and includes a community center with an auditorium, job training center, medical clinic, grocery store, and other amenities. The result is a new, mixed neighborhood. The most recent MIR project addresses the disastrous living conditions of Native Americans on many of their reservations. Make It Right is working with the Sioux and Assiniboine tribes of Fort Peck to build sustainable homes. Here too, the process started with a series of community meetings attended by all the architects and builders involved in the process. The buildings will not only be LEED Platinum certified and adhere to the Cradle-to-Cradle principle but also be tailored to the traditional living patterns of the tribes. All the new homes will be built off-site as modular constructions, but here the plan is to establish a factory owned and run by the tribes.
In addition to housing, it will therefore also create a new source of income.

GRAFT Make it Right
Founding Partners
Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit
Project Lead
Neiel Norheim
Project Team

Alejandro Lillo, Nora Gordon, Verena Schreppel, Christoph Rauhut, M. Casey Rehm, Francesca Freeman, Eddie Hermann, Carsten Gauert, Joshua D. Gilpin, Mick van Gemert, Michael Zach, Asami Tachikawa, Susanne Woitke, Mark Grohne, Marcus Friesl, Atsushi Sugiuchi, Lorena Yamamoto, Naoko Miyano, Mosska Adeil, Tin-Shun But, Michael Haas, Shelly Shelly, Juyen Lee, Andrea Schuette, Robert DeCosmo

Make it Right

Zurück
GRAFT Make it Right
GRAFT Make it Right
GRAFT Make it Right
GRAFT Make it Right
Architecture ActivismModular ArchitectureResidentialUrban Planning
Projektart
Wiederaufbau des Lower Ninth Ward, Stadtplanung, Einfamilienhäuser
Status
Fortlaufend
Ort
New Orleans, USA
Zeitraum
2006–2008
Größe
1.000 sqft (100m²) - 3.000 sqft (300m²) Häuser
Auftraggeber
Make It Right Foundation
In Kollaboration mit
Brad Pitt, William McDonough, Cherokee Foundation, Tom Darden II, Tom Darden III
Fotografen

Stefan Beese, Ricky Ridecos, Virginia Miller, Kevin Scott

Auszeichnungen
National Design Award 2016, AIT Award 2012

Der Hurrikan Katrina, der 2005 die Golfküste traf, war einer der tödlichsten Hurrikane in den USA und die bisher teuerste Katastrophe der Welt. Der gesamte Stadtteil Lower Ninth Ward in New Orleans liegt unter dem Meeresspiegel und wurde komplett zerstört - die Bevölkerung wurde dadurch vertrieben. Ein Jahr nach der Katastrophe war von staatlicher Seite noch immer nichts unternommen worden, sodass die Bewohner nicht zurückkehren, und ihre Häuser und Viertel wieder aufbauen konnten. Der Schauspieler Brad Pitt besuchte das Gebiet während der Dreharbeiten zu einem Film und beschloss, ein eigenes Projekt für den Wiederaufbau zu initiieren.

Im Jahr 2007 gründete GRAFT zusammen mit Brad Pitt, Bill McDonough und der Cherokee Foundation die "Make It Right Foundation", um das Lower Ninth Ward wiederaufzubauen.

GRAFT Make it Right

Um Spenden zu sammeln und Bewusstsein für die Katastrophe zu schaffen, entwarf die Stiftung das Pink Project, um den Wiederaufbau offiziell zu starten und die erste Finanzierung nach Brad Pitts erster Spende vorzubereiten. Durch die Verschmelzung von Bühnenbild und Architektur wurden 150 pinkfarbene Häuser auf dem leeren Land errichtet, das 2 Jahre nach den Überschwemmungen immer noch die Gegend beherrschte.

Im Laufe der Zeit und nachdem Geldspenden eintrafen, wurden die rosafarbenen Platzhalter zusammengesetzt, um das urbane Muster der Gemeinde vor der Katastrophe wieder aufleben zu lassen. Im Laufe vieler Monate trafen sich Pitt, GRAFT und die anderen beteiligten Parteien mit ehemaligen Hausbesitzern und lokalen Gemeindeleitern.

GRAFT Make it Right
GRAFT Make it Right

GRAFT übernahm die Rolle des architektonischen Kurators im Vorstand von MIR und lud eine Gruppe von 21 Architekten ein, eine Reihe von architektonischen Lösungen zu entwerfen.

GRAFT Make it Right

Entwürfe von Adjaye Associates, Billes Partners, Concordia LLC, Eskew+Dumez+Ripple, GRAFT, Brooks + Scarpa, MVRDV, Morphosis, Trahan Architects, Hitoshi Abe, Bild Design, BNIM, Waggonner and Ball, Gehry and Partners, KieranTimberlake, Shigeru Ban, Elemental, Constructs LLC, Ray Kappe, William McDonough + Partners und buildingstudio.

GRAFT Make it Right

GRAFT steuerte auch zwei Entwürfe für erschwingliche, nachhaltige und sichere Häuser bei, die auf beliebten Wohntypologien und den reichen Traditionen von New Orleans basieren. Die Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien folgen dem Cradle-to-Cradle-Prinzip, das von William McDonough und Michael Braungart begründet wurde.

GRAFT Make it Right

GRAFT Make it Right
GRAFT Make it Right
GRAFT Make it Right

Diese und andere Maßnahmen trugen dazu bei, den Energiebedarf zu reduzieren und die monatlichen Nebenkosten von bis zu 300 US-Dollar vor Katrina auf nur 25 US-Dollar zu senken. Make It Right entwarf einen Katalog von Häusern mit unterschiedlichen Stilen, aber ähnlichen Grundflächen und Preisen. Die Bewohner konnten sich den Entwurf aussuchen.

Alle Architekten stellten ihre Zeit und ihre Entwürfe unentgeltlich für die Gemeinde zur Verfügung, um eine nachhaltige, klimagerechte und vielfältige Nachbarschaft zu schaffen.

GRAFT Make it Right

Bis heute wurden mehr als 100 Häuser gebaut, die alle den LEED-Platin-Status erhalten haben. Damit ist es die größte Gemeinschaft in den USA mit diesem Zertifikat. Mehr als 350 Menschen leben inzwischen in Make It Right-Häusern.

Erweiterung der Vision: Aus dem Prozess des Wiederaufbaus des Lower 9th Ward in New Orleans konnten viele Lehren gezogen werden. Viele neue Methoden wurden entwickelt, Netzwerke geschaffen und Leben verändert. Brad Pitt beschloss, dieses Wissen und Know-how auch in anderen Projekten anzuwenden und die Vision zu erweitern. Nach einer Naturkatastrophe wie dem Hurrikan Katrina ist es einfacher, Aufmerksamkeit zu generieren und Spendengelder zu sammeln. Andere, ähnlich verheerende Ereignisse sind im Fernsehen und online möglicherweise weniger präsent, sie verdienen aber dieselbe Zuwendung und Hilfe. Die Make it Right Foundation hat daher inzwischen drei weitere Projekte gestartet.

GRAFT Make it Right

Die Veteranen sind eine sozial benachteiligte Gruppe in den Vereinigten Staaten. Aus vielen Gründen lebt ein großer Prozentsatz von ihnen in Armut und hat kein Zuhause. Das MIR-Projekt in Newark nutzte einige der Grundprinzipien aus dem Lower 9th Ward-Projekt und wendete sie auf ein dichteres städtisches Umfeld an: ein Mehrfamilienhausprojekt mit 56 Einheiten für behinderte Veteranen. Der Wohnkomplex ist ebenfalls LEED-Platin-zertifiziert und verfügt über nachhaltige Merkmale wie Solarzellen und einen Dachgarten mit frischem Gemüse. Die ersten Veteranen konnten am Memorial Day 2012 einziehen.
Ein Jahr später wurde ein weiteres MIR-Projekt in Kansas City fertiggestellt. Eine ehemalige Grundschule wurde in einen Komplex umgewandelt, der 150 Bewohnern erschwinglichen Wohnraum bietet: eine neue Gemeinschaft, die sich aus einer Mischung aus jungen Menschen, die aus der Pflegefamilie kommen, Veteranen und einkommensschwachen Familien zusammensetzt. Zusätzlich zu der umgebauten Schule wurden auch neue Stadthäuser errichtet. Dieses Projekt ist ebenfalls LEED-Platin-zertifiziert und umfasst ein Gemeindezentrum mit einem Auditorium, ein Berufsausbildungszentrum, eine medizinische Klinik, einen Lebensmittelladen und andere Einrichtungen. Das Ergebnis ist eine neue, durchmischte Nachbarschaft. Das jüngste MIR-Projekt befasst sich mit den katastrophalen Lebensbedingungen der amerikanischen Ureinwohner in vielen ihrer Reservate. Make It Right arbeitet mit den Stämmen der Sioux und Assiniboine in Fort Peck zusammen, um nachhaltige Häuser zu bauen. Auch hier begann der Prozess mit einer Reihe von Gemeindeversammlungen, an denen alle am Prozess beteiligten Architekten und Bauherren teilnahmen. Die Gebäude werden nicht nur LEED-Platin-zertifiziert sein und dem Cradle-to-Cradle-Prinzip folgen, sondern auch auf die traditionellen Lebensweisen der Stämme zugeschnitten sein. Alle neuen Häuser werden als modulare Konstruktionen außerhalb des Geländes zusammen mit einer Fabrik gebaut, die den Stämmen gehört und von ihnen betrieben wird. Neben Wohnraum wird so auch eine neue Einkommensquelle geschaffen.

GRAFT Make it Right
Gründungspartner
Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit
Projektleitung
Neiel Norheim
Projektteam

Alejandro Lillo, Nora Gordon, Verena Schreppel, Christoph Rauhut, M. Casey Rehm, Francesca Freeman, Eddie Hermann, Carsten Gauert, Joshua D. Gilpin, Mick van Gemert, Michael Zach, Asami Tachikawa, Susanne Woitke, Mark Grohne, Marcus Friesl, Atsushi Sugiuchi, Lorena Yamamoto, Naoko Miyano, Mosska Adeil, Tin-Shun But, Michael Haas, Shelly Shelly, Juyen Lee, Andrea Schuette, Robert DeCosmo