Solarkiosk

Back
GRAFT Solarkiosk
GRAFT Solarkiosk
GRAFT energy connectivity hubs
GRAFT Solarkiosk
GRAFT SOLARKIOSK
Architecture ActivismModular ArchitectureCommercial
Project type
Off-grid and clean energy provision, solar power, sustainable business, rural communities, architecture activism
Status
Ongoing
Location
Worldwide
Time
Ongoing
Awards

American Architecture Prize 2016: Honorable Mention, Bloomberg New Energy Pioneer Award 2016, Ecosummit Award 2015, Erasmus Energy Business Award 2015, Connected World Awards 2015, ZEIT Wissen Award 2015, German Design Award 2014, Design Award of the Federal Republic Germany 2014: Silver, Bundespreis ecodesign 2013, Siemens Empowering People Award 2013, International Architecture Award 2013, CDG-Unternehmerpreis 2013, Architecture of Necessity Award 2013

For approximately 16% of the world’s population most social and economic activity effectively ceases with nightfall. 1.5 billion people worldwide have to live without electricity – 600 million in Africa alone. Ironically, these “off-grid households” spend on average 40% of their entire income on alternative non-sustainable sources of power, such as kerosene, diesel generators, charcoal and dry cell batteries – a significant hazard for health and environment.

GRAFT Solarkiosk

Africa is still the fastest-growing market for telecommunication with millions of new subscriptions every year. Mobile phones are everywhere, but energy is not. In order to have any chance to participate in the world’s future development, remote communities need a reliable, affordable, and clean source of energy!

With SOLARKIOSK, GRAFT and Andreas Spiess have built an infrastructure instrument that can create an impact from the bottom up, cooperating directly with local people and developing their community.

SOLARKIOSK company
GRAFT Solarkiosk
GRAFT Solarkiosk

With clean solar energy and an inclusive business model, SOLARKIOSK provides an energy supply, connectivity, and communication even in remote regions. The kiosks give local people the opportunity to acquire new skills and gain economic stability, safeguard their health and the environment, and gain direct access to global markets without censorship or financial control by governments or corporations.

GRAFT Solarkiosk
GRAFT Solarkiosk

While the electrical components are procured and pre-assembled centrally to ensure quality and durability, all other materials can be manufactured and assembled locally. SOLARKIOSK has established local manufacturing sites in Ethiopia, Kenya, and Ghana, covering both East and West Africa. SOLARKIOSK supports and develops low-income communities and improves the lives of millions economically, ecologically, and socially.

GRAFT Solarkiosk
GRAFT Solarkiosk

SOLARKIOSK pre-finances each kiosk, implements and maintains the technical setup of the E-HUBB, and systematically trains and educates the operators and their respective employees through its local affiliate. Each kiosk can provides jobs for up to seven locals!

SOLARKIOSK

SOLARKIOSK encourages creativity and enables low-income communities to create their own value chains. An operator in Kenya uses the clean energy supplied by the E-HUBB and extended her business to power an adjacent restaurant, a butcher shop (both need solar cooling), and a movie theater.

SOLARKIOSK is currently expanding its business, providing power supplies and space to clients such as telecommunication mast providers, refugee camps, health stations, schools, and other purposes.

GRAFT Solarkiosk

At the African Drone Forum in Rwanda in early 2020, GRAFT and DroneMasters presented a new concept that would enable the fast and easy implementation of a decentralized drone, energy and education network. The idea is to link the existing functions of the SOLARKIOSK with a drone infrastructure to increase rural connectivity in Africa.

GRAFT Solarkiosk refugee camp

In 2019, Solarkiosk implemented 5 solar clinics in the Kutupalong Rohingya refugee camp in Bangladesh. It is the biggest refugee camp in the world with approximately 550.000 people living there. Especially young women are in dire need of mother-child-care.

GRAFT Solar Clinic

The SOLAR CLINIC was inaugurated in January 2017 – it provides basic health care for refugees and local people in the host community close to Al-Mafraq solely powered by an 8KW independent solar system. The staff is able to treat up to 75 people per day. Syrian refugees, as well as Jordanian citizens, benefit from the possibility of blood and urine testing, services like medical ultrasound, and mother-child-care. Once the Syrian refugees use the facilities of the solar clinic, they are registered for the Jordanian health care system. The clinic has been realized by SOLARKIOSK and the Siemens Foundation. It will be operated by the Jordanian Ministry of Health. It is the first structure of its kind, enabling a superior level of medical services in off-grid settings.

GRAFT Solar Clinic
GRAFT Solar Clinic
GRAFT Solar School

The SOLAR SCHOOL was installed in 2017 in Jordanian Refugee Camp Zaatari, hosting more than 80,000 refugees, among them 25,000 children of school-going age. The connected school will utilize solar energy provided by SOLARKIOSK’s E-HUBB technology to deliver electricity and broadband connectivity enabled by SES’s Astra Connect broadband platform, which in turn enables teachers to use quality e-learning materials sponsored by UNICEF. The E-HUBB interior will become the administrative center for teachers and will have a power node to charge solar lamps, laptops, printers, mobile phones, and tablets. The school, installed by SES and SOLARKIOSK, will improve the quality of education in the refugee camp.

GRAFT Connected Solar School
GRAFT Connected Solar School
Founding Partners
Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit
Project Lead
Sebastian Massmann
Projekt Team

Alessandra Pantuso, Alexandra Tobescu, Alison Liang Fei, Andrea Göldel, Antoine Mahiuo, Antonio Luque Aranda, Carsten Gauert, David Tyl, Filipa Leal de Carvalho, Hegic Denis, Ioanna Piniara, Johan Tali, Johanna Kuntze, Kudzai Magoche, Marta Piaseczynska-Karaivanov,, Mats Karl Koppe Patrik Sonntag, Paulo de Araujo, Primoz Strazar, Sebastian Gernhardt, Shafaroudi Puja, Solar Blaz Stefanie Götz

Solarkiosk

Zurück
GRAFT Solarkiosk
GRAFT Solarkiosk
GRAFT energy connectivity hubs
GRAFT Solarkiosk
GRAFT SOLARKIOSK
Architecture ActivismModular ArchitectureCommercial
Projektart
Netzunabhängige und saubere Energieversorgung, Solarenergie, nachhaltiges Wirtschaften, ländliche Gemeinden, Architekturaktivismus
Status
Fortlaufend
Ort
Weltweit
Zeitraum
Aktuell
Auszeichnungen

American Architecture Prize 2016: Honorable Mention, Bloomberg New Energy Pioneer Award 2016, Ecosummit Award 2015, Erasmus Energy Business Award 2015, Connected World Awards 2015, ZEIT Wissen Award 2015, German Design Award 2014, Design Award of the Federal Republic Germany 2014: Silver, Bundespreis ecodesign 2013, Siemens Empowering People Award 2013, International Architecture Award 2013, CDG-Unternehmerpreis 2013, Architecture of Necessity Award 2013

Für etwa 16 % der Weltbevölkerung endet der Großteil der sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Aktivitäten mit Einbruch der Dunkelheit. 1,5 Milliarden Menschen weltweit müssen ohne Strom leben - 600 Millionen davon allein in Afrika. Paradoxerweise geben diese "netzfernen Haushalte" im Durchschnitt 40 % ihres gesamten Einkommens für alternative, nicht nachhaltige Energiequellen wie Kerosin, Dieselgeneratoren, Holzkohle und Trockenzellenbatterien aus - eine erhebliche Gefahr für Gesundheit und Umwelt.

GRAFT Solarkiosk

Afrika ist immer noch der am schnellsten wachsende Markt für Telekommunikation mit Millionen neuer Abonnements jedes Jahr. Mobiltelefone sind überall, aber Energie ist es nicht. Um überhaupt eine Chance zu haben, an der zukünftigen Entwicklung der Welt teilzuhaben, brauchen abgelegene Gemeinden eine zuverlässige, bezahlbare und saubere Energiequelle!

Mit SOLARKIOSK haben GRAFT und Andreas Spiess ein Infrastrukturinstrument geschaffen, das direkt mit den Menschen vor Ort zusammenarbeitet und ihre Gemeinschaft entwickelt.

SOLARKIOSK company
GRAFT Solarkiosk
GRAFT Solarkiosk

Mit sauberer Solarenergie und einem integrativen Geschäftsmodell sorgt SOLARKIOSK für Energieversorgung, Konnektivität und Kommunikation auch in abgelegenen Regionen. Die Kioske geben den Menschen vor Ort die Möglichkeit, sich neue Fähigkeiten anzueignen und wirtschaftliche Stabilität zu erlangen, ihre Gesundheit und die Umwelt zu schützen und direkten Zugang zu globalen Märkten zu erhalten, ohne Zensur oder finanzielle Kontrolle durch Regierungen oder Konzerne.

GRAFT Solarkiosk
GRAFT Solarkiosk

Während die elektrischen Komponenten zentral bezogen und vormontiert werden, um Qualität und Langlebigkeit zu gewährleisten, können alle anderen Materialien lokal gefertigt und zusammengebaut werden. SOLARKIOSK hat lokale Produktionsstätten in Äthiopien, Kenia und Ghana eingerichtet, die sowohl Ost- als auch Westafrika abdecken. SOLARKIOSK unterstützt und entwickelt einkommensschwache Gemeinden und verbessert das Leben von Millionen von Menschen in wirtschaftlicher, ökologischer und sozialer Hinsicht.

GRAFT Solarkiosk
GRAFT Solarkiosk

SOLARKIOSK finanziert jeden Kiosk vor, implementiert und wartet den technischen Aufbau des E-HUBB und schult systematisch die Betreiber und ihre jeweiligen Mitarbeiter durch seine lokale Tochtergesellschaft. Jeder Kiosk kann bis zu sieben Menschen einen Arbeitsplatz bieten!

SOLARKIOSK

SOLARKIOSK fördert Kreativität und ermöglicht einkommensschwachen Gemeinden, ihre eigenen Wertschöpfungsketten zu schaffen. Eine Betreiberin in Kenia nutzt die vom E-HUBB gelieferte saubere Energie und erweiterte ihr Geschäft, um ein angrenzendes Restaurant, eine Metzgerei (beide benötigen solare Kühlung) und ein Kino mit Strom zu versorgen.

SOLARKIOSK baut derzeit sein Geschäft aus und versorgt Kunden wie Telekommunikationsmastbetreiber, Flüchtlingslager, Gesundheitsstationen, Schulen und andere Zwecke mit Strom, Raum und Infrastruktur.

GRAFT Solarkiosk

Auf dem African Drone Forum in Ruanda Anfang 2020 präsentierten GRAFT und DroneMasters ein neues Konzept, das die schnelle und einfache Implementierung eines dezentralen Drohnen-, Energie- und Bildungsnetzwerks ermöglichen würde. Die Idee ist, die bestehenden Funktionen des SOLARKIOSK mit einer Drohnen-Infrastruktur zu verbinden, um die ländliche Konnektivität in Afrika zu erhöhen.

GRAFT Solarkiosk refugee camp

2019 implementierte Solarkiosk fünf Solarkliniken im Kutupalong Rohingya Flüchtlingslager in Bangladesch. Es ist das größte Flüchtlingslager der Welt, in dem ca. 550.000 Menschen leben. Vor allem junge Frauen sind dringend auf Mutter-Kind-Betreuung angewiesen.

GRAFT Solar Clinic

Die SOLARKLINIK wurde im Januar 2017 eingeweiht - sie bietet eine medizinische Grundversorgung für Flüchtlinge und Einheimische in der Gemeinde nahe Al-Mafraq, die ausschließlich durch eine unabhängige 8KW-Solaranlage betrieben wird. Das Personal kann bis zu 75 Menschen pro Tag behandeln. Sowohl syrische Flüchtlinge als auch jordanische Staatsbürger profitieren von der Möglichkeit von Blut- und Urinuntersuchungen, Dienstleistungen wie medizinischem Ultraschall und Mutter-Kind-Betreuung. Sobald die syrischen Flüchtlinge die Einrichtungen der Solarklinik nutzen, werden sie für das jordanische Gesundheitssystem registriert. Die Klinik wurde von SOLARKIOSK und der Siemens Stiftung realisiert. Betrieben wird sie vom jordanischen Gesundheitsministerium. Es ist die erste Struktur dieser Art, die ein höheres Niveau der medizinischen Versorgung in netzfernen Umgebungen ermöglicht.

GRAFT Solar Clinic
GRAFT Solar Clinic
GRAFT Solar School

Die SOLAR SCHOOL wurde 2017 im jordanischen Flüchtlingslager Zaatari installiert, das mehr als 80.000 Flüchtlinge beherbergt, darunter 25.000 Kinder im schulpflichtigen Alter. Die vernetzte Schule nutzt die Solarenergie, die von der E-HUBB-Technologie von SOLARKIOSK bereitgestellt wird, um Strom und eine Breitbandverbindung zu liefern, die durch die Astra Connect-Breitbandplattform von SES ermöglicht wird, was wiederum den Lehrern ermöglicht, hochwertige, von UNICEF gesponserte E-Learning-Materialien zu nutzen. Der E-HUBB-Innenraum wird zum Verwaltungszentrum für die Lehrer und verfügt über einen Stromknotenpunkt zum Aufladen von Solarlampen, Laptops, Druckern, Handys und Tablets. Die von SES und SOLARKIOSK installierte Schule wird die Qualität der Bildung im Flüchtlingslager verbessern.

GRAFT Connected Solar School
GRAFT Connected Solar School
Gründungspartner
Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit
Projektleitung
Sebastian Massmann
Projektteam

Alessandra Pantuso, Alexandra Tobescu, Alison Liang Fei, Andrea Göldel, Antoine Mahiuo, Antonio Luque Aranda, Carsten Gauert, David Tyl, Filipa Leal de Carvalho, Hegic Denis, Ioanna Piniara, Johan Tali, Johanna Kuntze, Kudzai Magoche, Marta Piaseczynska-Karaivanov,, Mats Karl Koppe Patrik Sonntag, Paulo de Araujo, Primoz Strazar, Sebastian Gernhardt, Shafaroudi Puja, Solar Blaz Stefanie Götz