Bayerhaus

Back
Bayerhaus
Bayerhaus
WorkHistoric Preservation
Project type
Office, retail, residential, refurbishment, new construction
Status
Under construction
Location
Berlin, Germany
Time
Ongoing
Size
6000m² (GFA)

The Bayerhaus, a seven-story office block built as the administrative center of the Bayer pharmaceutical company in the early 1950s, was one of the first post-World War II buildings to be erected in West Berlin.

Bayerhaus

With its elegant, reinforced concrete grid façade and stylish interior, the building, considered one of Berlin’s most beautiful addresses at the time, is among the most impressive symbols of a new architectural direction in postwar Berlin.

photo credit: Waldemar Titzenthaler / ullstein bi​ld

The Bayerhaus is now set to receive an extra story and a new side wing. In addition, the façade facing the rear yard, which was cladded with fiber cement plates in the 1980s, will be removed and re-rendered, restoring its original appearance, with its grid-like relief and large window openings.

Bayerhaus

To the rear, the building will receive a seven-story extension, providing office space that can be used independently or in addition to the space available in the existing building. Large windows, a highly flexible floor plan, and state-of-the-art technology form the basis for the creation of a contemporary working environment in the building’s interior. The room-high glazing elements, with a uniform grid pattern and alternating casement windows, will ensure optimal natural lighting and ventilation.

Bayerhaus

Bayerhaus
Bayerhaus

The vertical and horizontal elements of the new glass façade adopt the color scheme and well-balanced proportions of the original building, right down to the smallest detail. With its delicate, tailor-made façade profiles in different shades of brass and the minimalist safety rails that echo the formal language of the existing building, the new extension helps to reactivate the identity of the original, heritage-protected Bayerhaus.

Taking up the history and elegance of the original Bayerhaus, the architectural language of the extension will lend the ensemble a new appearance and function. The modest organic forms of the existing building are expressed in the consistent application of characteristic historical details throughout the extension, such as rounded corners and the use of particular materials.

Project partners
Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit, Dennis Hawner
Project director
Stefanie Götz, Anna Wittwer
Project lead
Alexandra Bunescu
Project team

Martin Bernard, Viktoria Delovska, Leonardo Di Chiara, Natalie Dillon, Jesus Navarro Murcia, Dylan Marshallsea, Philippos Michael, Marco Migliavacca, Benjamin Rieß, Emma Rytoft, Klemens Sitzmann, Agnieszka Szymanska, Luis Julio Tomas Gallardo, Camila Vieire Préve, Marta Wegner, Marc Wieneke, Bojan Zdravkovic

Bayerhaus

Zurück
Bayerhaus
Bayerhaus
WorkHistoric Preservation
Projektart
Büro, Einzelhandel, Wohnungsbau, Renovierung, Neubau
Status
Im Bau
Ort
Berlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum
Aktuell
Größe
6.000m² (BGF)

Das Bayerhaus, ein siebenstöckiges Bürogebäude, das Anfang der 50er Jahre als Verwaltungszentrum des Pharmakonzerns Bayer errichtet wurde, war eines der ersten Gebäude, die nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg in West-Berlin gebaut wurden.

Bayerhaus

Mit seiner eleganten Stahlbeton-Rasterfassade und dem stilvollen Interieur gehört das Gebäude, das damals als eine der schönsten Adressen Berlins galt, zu den eindrucksvollsten Symbolen einer neuen architektonischen Richtung im Nachkriegs-Berlin.

Foto: Waldemar Titzenthaler / ullstein bi​ld

Das Bayerhaus soll nun um ein zusätzliches Stockwerk und einen neuen Seitenflügel ergänzt werden. Außerdem wird die Fassade zum Hinterhof, die in den 1980er Jahren mit Faserzementplatten verkleidet wurde, entfernt und neu verputzt, so dass das ursprüngliche Erscheinungsbild mit seinem gitterartigen Relief und den großen Fensteröffnungen wiederhergestellt wird.

Bayerhaus

Im rückseitigen Bereich erhält das Gebäude einen siebengeschossigen Anbau mit Büroflächen, die unabhängig von oder zusätzlich zu den Flächen des Bestandsgebäudes genutzt werden können. Große Fenster, ein hochflexibler Grundriss und modernste Technik bilden die Grundlage für die zeitgemäße Arbeitsumgebung im Inneren des Gebäudes. Die raumhohen Verglasungselemente mit gleichmäßigem Raster und Flügelfenstern werden für eine optimale natürliche Belichtung und Belüftung sorgen.

Bayerhaus

Bayerhaus
Bayerhaus

Die vertikalen und horizontalen Elemente der neuen Glasfassade nehmen die Farbgebung und die ausgewogenen Proportionen des ursprünglichen Gebäudes bis ins kleinste Detail auf. Mit seinen filigranen, maßgeschneiderten Fassadenprofilen in verschiedenen Messingtönen und den minimalistischen Sicherheitsgeländern, die die Formensprache des Bestandsgebäudes aufgreifen, trägt der neue Anbau dazu bei, die Qualität des ursprünglichen, denkmalgeschützten Bayerhauses zu reaktivieren.

Die Architektursprache des Erweiterungsbaus greift die Geschichte und Eleganz des ursprünglichen Bayerhauses auf und verleiht dem Ensemble ein neues Erscheinungsbild und eine neue Funktion. Die zurückhaltenden organischen Formen des Bestandsgebäudes finden ihren Ausdruck in der konsequenten Anwendung charakteristischer historischer Details im gesamten Erweiterungsbau, wie abgerundete Ecken und die Verwendung besonderer Materialien.

Projektpartner
Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit, Dennis Hawner
Project director
Stefanie Götz, Anna Wittwer
Projektleitung
Alexandra Bunescu
Projektteam

Martin Bernard, Viktoria Delovska, Leonardo Di Chiara, Natalie Dillon, Jesus Navarro Murcia, Dylan Marshallsea, Philippos Michael, Marco Migliavacca, Benjamin Rieß, Emma Rytoft, Klemens Sitzmann, Agnieszka Szymanska, Luis Julio Tomas Gallardo, Camila Vieire Préve, Marta Wegner, Marc Wieneke, Bojan Zdravkovic