M.ICC Mobility Hub Berlin

Back
micc
M.ICC Mobility Hub Berlin
Adaptive ReuseUrban PlanningMobilityArchitecture ActivismExhibition / Stage
Project type
Mobility, transport, museum, exhibition, infrastructure, e-charging, event space, congress center
Status
In progress
Location
Berlin, Germany
Time
Ongoing
Collaborators
Trockland, GRAFT Brandlab, Art+Com, Arcadis, Drees & Sommer

The International Congress Center (ICC) in Berlin-Westend is the largest congress center in Europe and one of the largest in the world. Since April 2014, this acclaimed epicenter of pop architecture has been closed, with potential subsequent uses being discussed in a broad public debate.

M.ICC Mobility Hub Berlin

To protect the building from demolition, GRAFT initiated a network of advocates and collaborators from Berlin (Trockland, GRAFT Brandlab, Art+Com, Arcadis, Drees & Sommer and many more) to develop a sustainable design concept for securing the building’s future as a major mobility hub and innovation accelerator. It proposes transforming the ICC into the M.ICC: the Mobility Innovation Convention Center.

The M.ICC will offer pioneering solutions for realizing the complex’s untapped potential and approaching contemporary challenges. Overlooking one of Berlin’s busiest traffic interchanges—the city’s Western gateway—as well the former AVUS race track, the ICC is the perfect location for new visions of mobility.

Jointly developed by GRAFT and Trockland, the concept for the vacant colossus at the city’s western entry point envisages a museum for motorsport history, a mobility experience center and the realization of Berlin’s largest e-charging complex.

Drawing on many years of experience participating in international projects with leading players in the field of mobility, such as Volocopter, E.ON and Mercedes-Benz, GRAFT is aware of the demands and opportunities presented by new mobility concepts. With a new use and a new lease of life, this architectural icon will not only offer Europe’s biggest indoor congress space and a central hub for contemporary mobility solutions, it will also be a place where people, knowledge and innovative technologies will be connected with the world.

Project Team

Alexander Moritz, Ki Yoon Kil, Marc Paulin, Nikolaos Xenos, Raluca Ana Maria Constantin

M.ICC Mobility Hub Berlin

Zurück
micc
M.ICC Mobility Hub Berlin
Adaptive ReuseUrban PlanningMobilityArchitecture ActivismExhibition / Stage
Projektart
Mobilität, Verkehr, Museum, Ausstellung, Infrastruktur, E-Charging, Veranstaltungsraum, Kongresszentrum
Status
In Bearbeitung
Ort
Berlin, Deutschland
Zeitraum
Aktuell
Partner
Trockland, GRAFT Brandlab, Art+Com, Arcadis, Drees & Sommer

Das Internationale Congress Centrum (ICC) in Berlin-Westend ist das größte Kongresszentrum in Europa und eines der größten der Welt. Seit April 2014 ist dieses gefeierte Epizentrum der Pop-Architektur geschlossen, mögliche Nachnutzungen werden in einer breiten öffentlichen Debatte diskutiert.

M.ICC Mobility Hub Berlin

Um das Gebäude vor dem Abriss zu bewahren, initiierte GRAFT ein Netzwerk von Befürwortern und Partnern aus Berlin (Trockland, GRAFT Brandlab, Art+Com, Arcadis, Drees & Sommer und viele mehr), um ein nachhaltiges Gestaltungskonzept zu entwickeln, das die Zukunft des Gebäudes als wichtige Mobilitätsdrehscheibe und Innovationsbeschleuniger sichert. Es schlägt vor, das ICC in das M.ICC zu verwandeln: das Mobility Innovation Convention Center.

Das M.ICC wird zukunftsweisende Lösungen anbieten, um das ungenutzte Potenzial des Komplexes zu realisieren und die Herausforderungen der Gegenwart anzugehen. Mit Blick auf einen der verkehrsreichsten Verkehrsknotenpunkte Berlins - das westliche Tor der Stadt - sowie die ehemalige AVUS-Rennstrecke ist das ICC der perfekte Ort für neue Visionen der Mobilität.

Das gemeinsam von GRAFT und Trockland entwickelte Konzept für den leerstehenden Koloss am westlichen Stadteingang sieht ein Museum für Motorsportgeschichte, ein Mobilitätserlebniszentrum und die Realisierung der größten E-Ladestation Berlins vor.

Aus langjähriger Erfahrung in internationalen Projekten mit führenden Akteuren im Bereich der Mobilität wie Volocopter, E.ON und Mercedes-Benz weiß GRAFT um die Anforderungen und Chancen neuer Mobilitätskonzepte. Mit neuer Nutzung und neuem Leben wird diese Architekturikone nicht nur Europas größte Indoor-Kongressfläche und eine zentrale Drehscheibe für zeitgemäße Mobilitätslösungen bieten, sondern auch ein Ort sein, an dem Menschen, Wissen und innovative Technologien mit der Welt verbunden werden.

Gründungspartner
Lars Krückeberg, Wolfram Putz, Thomas Willemeit
Projektteam

Alexander Moritz, Ki Yoon Kil, Marc Paulin, Nikolaos Xenos, Raluca Ana Maria Constantin